The Friend Who Lied by Rachel Amphlett @RachelAmphlett

Book Description:

What she doesn’t know might kill her…

Lisa Ashton receives a last-minute reprieve from death two weeks before her birthday. Regaining consciousness, she is horrified to learn one of her friends has been killed – and saved her life.

As she recovers, she uncovers a trail of carefully guarded reputations, disturbing rumours, and lies. Soon, Lisa begins to wonder if one of her friends is hiding a terrible secret. 

Because five of them entered the escape room that day, and only four got out alive. 

And someone is determined to cover their tracks before she can find out the truth.

Can Lisa find the killer before someone else dies?

The Friend Who Lied: a twisted psychological thriller from USA Today bestseller Rachel Amphlett – perfect for fans of The Hunting Party by Lucy Foley and Friend Request by Laura Marshal

My Thoughts:

Lisa who was nearly at death’s door, wakes up in hospital having miraculously had a life saving transplant but at the cost of one of her friends lives. You can feel the emotional turmoil that she is going through at being grateful that she is alive but the guilt that surrounds it as she would never want for any of her friends to pay such a price.

This is a group of friends that have been together since their school days. There is obviously a bond there but yet all seem to be very guarded when it comes to Lisa which makes her recovery even harder as she is anxious to find out the truth, especially as the police seem keen to get to the bottom of what happened in the escape room, causing one of the friends deaths.

The story alternates between the remaining friends, giving the reader a glance into their minds and to what they are thinking. It soon becomes apparent something must have happened or be going on but what, was what myself and Lisa had to find out.

The story line is one that certainly grabbed my attention and kept me hooked throughout. None of the characters are overly likeable and to a certain extent, all felt slightly unreliable. I wasn’t quite sure what to believe and whether I was reading to much into things and not enough into others. The author certainly knows how to mess with her readers minds, making this an utterly compulsive read.

The Friend Who Lied is an addictive read that I couldn’t put down. I read it in two sittings as I had to know just what secrets or lies were being kept from me. Psychological thrillers are my all time favourite genre and this author certainly has made her mark within it with this book. From the cover alone it promises a dark and tangled web and this was sure that. Great read and highly recommended.

The Friend Who Lied is out on the 9th of June available to pre-order from Amazon. (Please note that link used is an affiliate link).

Before turning to writing, USA Today bestselling author Rachel Amphlett played guitar in bands, worked as a TV and film extra, dabbled in radio as a presenter and freelance producer for the BBC, and worked in publishing as a sub-editor and editorial assistant.

She now wields a pen instead of a plectrum and writes crime fiction and spy novels, including the Dan Taylor and English Spy Mysteries espionage novels and theDetective Kay Hunter British police procedural series.

She’s a member of International Thriller Writers and the Crime Writers Association, with the Italian foreign rights for her debut novel, White Gold sold to Fanucci Editore’s TIMECrime imprint, and the first four books in the Dan Taylor espionage series contracted to Germany’s Luzifer Verlag.

Praise for Rachel Amphlett

“Thrilling start to a new series. Scared to Death is a stylish, smart and gripping crime thriller” ~ Robert Bryndza, USA Today bestselling author ofThe Girl in the Ice

“Scared to Death… moves along at breakneck speed with twists and turns” ~ Angela Marsons, bestselling author of the Detective Kim Stone crime thriller series
Links: 

Email: info@rachelamphlett.com

www.rachelamphlett.com

Twitter: @RachelAmphlett

Instagram: @RachelAmphlett

Facebook: Rachel Amphlett

4 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s