Treble Clef by Malcolm Hollingdrake @MHollingdrake @CarolineBookBit

Book Description:

Harrogate attracts hundreds of players to the annual Games Convention and for one player it is the perfect opportunity to kill by the mechanics of his own sinister game. Each victim will die in the same way. Each will be classed as the loser and their time will have run out. The escape room and the game table will draw more, each believing they are invincible. However, in every game there is always a traitor waiting in the wings. The latest in the bestselling Harrogate Crime Series.
Book 1: Only The Dead Book 2: Hell’s Gate Book 3: Flesh Evidence Book 4: Game Point Book 5: Dying Art Book 6: Crossed Out Book 7: The Third Breath Book 8: Treble Clef

My Thoughts:

I love Harrogate and I loved being transported back there in this story. Even though it is a beautiful location, there is a darkness lurking in the shadows waiting for Bennett and Owen to catch it.

Cyril is quite old school and Owen compliments him wonderfully. They are a bit like chalk and cheese yet they work so well together. Owen certainly brings a bit of light to this otherwise dark story and it is a great partnership to read of.

You can’t get more of a current story line than with this particular one as escape rooms are something that have become quite the in thing to be doing at the moment. Have always wanted to try one though maybe not in a hurry to do so now having read Treble Clef!

Treble Clef was a gripping, page turner of a read that kept me on the edge of my seat. It is one dark and twisted story line that I devoured within no time. If you love Morse and Lewis, you will love Bennett and Owen. A very clever plot with a killer who certainly gives the police a run for their money.

My thanks to Caroline at Bits About Books for an advanced readers copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

Treble Clef is available to purchase from Amazon. (Please note that link used is an affiliate link).

You could say that the writing was clearly on the wall for someone born in a library that they might aspire to be an author, but to get to that point Malcolm Hollingdrake has travelled a circuitous route.

Malcolm worked in education for many years, even teaching for a period in Cairo before he started writing, a challenge he had longed to tackle for more years than he cares to remember.

He has written a number of successful short stories, has nine books now available and is presently writing the eighth crime novel set in Harrogate, North Yorkshire.

Born in Bradford and spending three years at Ripon College, Malcolm has never lost his love for his home county, a passion that is reflected in the settings for all the DCI Bennett novels.

Currently, Malcolm is writing a new series which is set in Merseyside.

Malcolm has enjoyed many hobbies including collecting works by Northern artists; the art auctions offer a degree of excitement when both buying and certainly when selling. It is a hobby he has bestowed upon DCI Cyril Bennett, the main character in his successful Bennett series.

Malcolm Hollingdrake on Social Media

Author Website malcolmhollingdrakeauthor.co.uk
Twitter twitter.com/MHollingdrake
Facebook Author Page bit.ly/FBtoMHdrake
Goodreads Author Page bit.ly/GRtoMHdrake
Amazon Author Page bit.ly/AmtoMHdrake

6 thoughts on “Treble Clef by Malcolm Hollingdrake @MHollingdrake @CarolineBookBit”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s