99 Days With You by Catherine Miller @bookouture @katylittlelady

Book Description:

Sometimes the end is the start of forever…

Emma and Nathan couldn’t be more different. But when they meet in a hospital waiting room, to the sound of a ticking clock and surrounded by faded magazines, they are both terrified, nervous and alone. And they have one fatal thing in common…

Emma lives a quiet life. She looks after her disabled mother. She lives vicariously through the well-thumbed pages and cracked spines of her beloved books.

Nathan spends his days fifteen thousand feet above the ground, soaring through the air, stomach somersaulting, as a sky diving instructor. After a lifetime of having a recurring dream that he would die at twenty-seven, he treats every day like it’s his last.

As fate throws Emma and Nathan together, everything is about to change.

Emma has never been kissed, or tasted champagne, or travelled abroad. Nathan has never fallen in love, worn odd socks, or grown a sunflower from a seed.

Emma and Nathan vow never to waste an hour, knowing that goodbye could come all too soon. But as they lose their hearts to one another against all the odds, have they found each other too late? 

An utterly heartbreaking yet ultimately uplifting novel about the redemptive power of love and how the end isn’t the end at all… Fans of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult and Diane Chamberlain will lose their hearts to Catherine Miller’s stunning story.

My Thoughts:

Having read the blurb first, I knew this was a book I would love and would have me crying like a baby and I was right on both counts. Cancer is something that affects many of our lives. Whether we have been affected by it directly or through loved ones, a story like this is always going to be close to home.

Emma and Nathan are total opposites but a chance meeting in a hospital waiting room changes both their lives for ever. As much as I really enjoyed Emma’s character, Nathan’s character I absolutely loved. I would love an ounce of his energy and positivity. His passion for living his life to the fullest is something that I think we could all learn from. I loved also that in the turmoil of what he is going through, he manages to find a way of helping others.

I did so well, managing to not shed a tear most of the way through this novel. A story like this is guaranteed to be a tear jerker and when those tears started, they didn’t stop. In fact they just came faster and harder. Knowing now how this story made me cry, do I wish I hadn’t read it? Not a chance. Whilst it literally broke my heart, it very much lived up to being an uplifting story also.

99 Days With You is a thought provoking, heart wrenching but beautiful love story of two souls making the most of a life changing diagnosis. The author focuses all the attention on these two characters and it felt like I was getting an intimate look into their journey and I felt privileged to be sharing it with them. Such a beautiful and well told story that has taught me not to focus on loss but on living and making every day count.

My thanks to Bookoutre and NetGalley for an advanced readers copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

99 Days With You is available to purchase from Amazon. (Please note that link used is an affiliate link).

About the author
When Catherine Miller became a mum to twins, she decided her hands weren’t full enough so wrote a novel with every spare moment she managed to find. By the time the twins were two, Catherine had a two-book deal with Carina UK. There is a possibility she has aged remarkably in that time. Her debut novel, Waiting For You, came out in March 2016.

Catherine was a NHS physiotherapist, but for health reasons (Uveitis and Sarcoidosis) she retired early from this career. As she loved her physiotherapy job, she decided if she couldn’t do that she would pursue her writing dream. It took a few years and a couple of babies, but in 2015 she won the Katie Fforde bursary, was a finalist in the London Book Fair Write Stuff Competition and highly commended in Woman magazine’s writing competition. Soon afterwards she signed with Carina. Soon after that, she collapsed in a heap and was eventually revived by chocolate.

Since then she’s had four novels published and hasn’t found a week that didn’t require revival by chocolate. She is one eighth of The Romaniacs – a group of writing friends who’ve supported each other since meeting through The Romantic Novelists’ Association’s New Writers’ Scheme.
https://twitter.com/katylittlelady

3 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s