A Very French Affair by Sue Roberts @bookouture @SueRobertsautho

Book Description:

From Southport to the South of France – this is going to be a summer to remember!

Life just got a whole lot more complicated for thirty-eight-year-old single mum Liv. Her son Jake is practically perfect in every way, but he’s started asking some difficult questions, and the answers lie in a holiday romance twenty years ago. Back when Liv was staying with her aunt on the French Riviera…

Returning to the Cote d’Azur, with its white sandy beaches, her supportive aunt, and exquisite wine and cheese is harder than it sounds though. Because – if she’s going to give Jake the answers he needs – Liv knows she has to hunt down her first love Andre. And since she’s a professional baker rather than a professional investigator, she doesn’t even have a clue where to start.

At first, finding the one that got away proves even trickier than she thought. And if she succeeds, how will he take the bombshell secret Liv has been keeping? Liv has to do the best thing for her family, but does that mean closing the door on this very French affair?

A joyful, laugh-out-loud story about second chances, secrets and sunshine! The perfect summer read for fans of Carole Matthews, Jenny Colgan and Sophie Kinsella. 

My Thoughts:

Well this book had the perfect blend of everything I love in this genre. A relatable main character, cakes and lots of delicious sounding food, dash of romance and best of all solid friendships. Top it off with some laugh out loud moments and you really are onto a winner.

Liv felt like an old friend within minutes of me starting this book. The friendship between her and her two friends was so great to read of. I loved that no matter what, these three always make time to do stuff together. Obviously it all helps that all three of them are single. I have to quickly mention Jo, the parts to do with her dog walking had me in hysterics. This really would make a great romantic comedy on the big screen.

A lot of the story is set in France of which the author through her writing, transported me along for the ride. I so enjoyed reading and getting to know the area better as well as the people. I was quite ready to back my things and move there until reality set in but was nice for a while.

A Very French Affair is a truly fabulous, laugh out loud read that I devoured whole heartedly. It really was such a fun, uplifting and heart warming story. Whether you take it on the beach, the plane, the back garden, wherever you go this summer, make sure to have a copy with you.

My thanks to Bookouture and NetGalley for an advanced readers copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

A Very French Affair is available to purchase from Amazon. (Please note that link used is an affiliate link).

About the author: 
Sue was born in Liverpool and moved to Lancashire as a teenager where she has lived ever since. She has written three books, the third ‘My Summer of love and limoncello.’ will be published on March 6th and she is busy working on a fourth book. When not busy writing, Sue spends her time with her ever growing family. She enjoys walking, cinema and travelling. Her first book ‘My Big Greek Summer.’ was inspired by frequent visits to the Island of Rhodes in Greece. All Sue’s books are available from Amazon in kindle and paperback format.
https://twitter.com/SueRobertsautho

2 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s