The Liar’s Sister by Sarah A. Denzil @bookouture @sarahdenzil

Book Description:

The must-read psychological thriller for 2019 from the million-copy-bestselling author of Silent Child.

Ten years ago, a boy named Samuel Murray went missing from the quiet village of Buckthorpe and was never found again.

Rosie Sharpe cried over her missing friend for weeks after.
Her little sister Heather knows that Rosie’s tears hide the truth. 
Because the night Samuel was last seen, Heather watched her older sister climbing back through the window of their childhood bedroom. Her jacket torn, her eyes wild and her body trembling with fear.

Heather never told anyone what she saw, but secrets can’t stay buried forever…

A decade later, Rosie and Heather return to the home they grew up in when their mother falls ill. But when their house is ransacked and they receive a threatening note, it becomes clear that someone in the close-knit village doesn’t want them there.

When Heather finally confronts her sister about what really happened on the dark, rainy night Samuel vanished, Rosie’s version of the truth is more shocking than she could ever have imagined. But can she trust her sister? As the lies of the past begin to unravel, they have the power to put the lives of both women in terrible danger…

This twist-filled, page-turning psychological thriller will keep you hooked until the final, jaw-dropping pages. Perfect for fans of Behind Closed Doors and The Girl on the Train.

My Thoughts:

Heather and Rosie having had quite a fraught relationship over the last ten years are forced to spend time together when their mother is days away from dying. There is something that has happened in the past that have caused these two to no longer be close and I was really intrigued to know just why.

The setting for the story is just perfect. A small village where every one knows each other. It added to an already tense read making it almost claustrophobic at times. The further into the story we go, it felt like everything was closing in on itself and I was well and truly glued to the pages reading it in one afternoon.

The residents of the village and their obvious dislike of having the sisters around made me desperate to find out just what had happened years before. There is so many secrets and lies and when those shocking revelations start to come out, well they just don’t stop. No way was I putting this book down for anyone or anything until I turned that last page and the author made sure that she made it worth my while.

The Liar’s Sister is one hell of a psychological thriller. The author drew me in and then before I knew it I was hooked. I love when a book in this genre messes with your head and this one does that alright. Towards the end I was literally hanging off every word whilst being shocked and thrilled by what was happening before my eyes. This is one author who just goes from strength to strength.

My thanks to NetGalley and Bookouture for an advanced readers copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

The Liar’s Sister is available to purchase from Amazon. (Please note that link used is an affiliate link).

Author Bio:

Sarah A. Denzil is a British suspense writer from Derbyshire. In her alternative life–AKA Sarah Dalton–she writes speculative fiction for teenagers, including The Blemished, Mary Hades and White Hart.

Sarah lives in Yorkshire with her partner, enjoying the scenic countryside and rather unpredictable weather. 

Saving April, Sarah’s debut suspense thriller, is a psychological look into the minds of the people around us who we rarely even consider – our neighbours. What do we really know about them, and what goes on when the doors are closed?

Author Social Media Links:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/sarahadenzil/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/sarahdenzil

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/marmiteandbooks/

Website: https://www.sarahdenzil.com/

3 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s