Cradle To Grave by Rachel Amphlett #BlogTour #GuestPost @RachelAmphlett @Tr4cyF3nt0n

Book Description:

When a faceless body is found floating in the river on a summer’s morning, Detective Kay Hunter and her team are tasked with finding out the man’s identity – and where he came from.

The investigation takes a sinister turn when an abandoned boat is found, covered in blood stains and containing a child’s belongings.

Under mounting pressure from a distraught family and an unforgiving media, the police are in a race against time – but they have no leads, and no motive for the events that have taken place.

Will Kay be able to find a ruthless killer and a missing child before it’s too late?

Cradle to Graveis the eighth book in the Detective Kay Hunter series by USA Today bestselling author Rachel Amphlett, and perfect for fans of Ann Cleeves, Peter James and Stuart MacBride.

Guest Post:

5 things I can’t write without

Coffee

Seriously, don’t expect any words from me until I’ve had my first mug of coffee for the day! I don’t mind if I see no caffeine for the rest of the shift, but I need that first coffee to help me settle in and get going.

I sip that while the computer is starting up and I’m reading through the last scene I wrote the day before. By the time I’ve drained the mug, I’m ready for anything my characters throw at me.

Notebook

This is where I jot down all my initial ideas, my thoughts as the story progresses, ideas for names, and my list of things I need to double check with my experts.

If I can’t get near a computer or my phone (for dictation), then I’ll write that day’s word count in my notebook. I always have to do the words, no matter how they end up on a page!

Scrivener

I started using the Scrivener app for writing in 2014, and could never contemplate going back to using MS Word. I’m always recommending it to writers, even though I probably only use 40% of the app’s capabilities myself. It’s a godsend.

Dog walks

I need to walk. Not just because I have a dog, but because I need that time in the fresh air to declutter my brain, get my circulation going and think about nothing except putting one foot in front of the other.

When I lived in Australia, I typically walked the dog very early in the morning – five o’clock, to beat the high temperatures. Now I’m living in the UK, I aim to get an hour and a half of writing in first thing before I walk him to break up the morning.

Walking gives me the space to let ideas pop into my head that often wouldn’t occur if I’d stayed in the office staring at the computer screen!

My other half

We’ve been together twenty years this month.

When I used to work full-time and write on the train into Brisbane every morning, I’d walk in the house at six o’clock at night and start the business and marketing side of my writing business. He would greet me with a glass of wine and then a couple of hours later make sure I left the computer alone for a bit had something to eat before collapsing into bed and doing it all again the next day.

He’s my secret weapon – and a great cook 😉

Before turning to writing, USA Today bestselling author Rachel Amphlett played guitar in bands, worked as a TV and film extra, dabbled in radio as a presenter and freelance producer for the BBC, and worked in publishing as a sub-editor and editorial assistant.

She now wields a pen instead of a plectrum and writes crime fiction and spy novels, including the fast paced Dan Taylor and English Assassins espionage novels, and the Detective Kay Hunter British murder mystery series.

After 13 years in Australia, Rachel has returned to the UK and is now based in the picturesque county of Dorset.

She’s a member of International Thriller Writers and the Crime Writers Association, with the Italian foreign rights for her debut novel, White Gold sold to Fanucci Editore’s TIMECrime imprint, and the first four books in the Dan Taylor espionage series contracted to Germany’s Luzifer Verlag.

Praise for Rachel Amphlett

“Thrilling start to a new series. Scared to Death is a stylish, smart and gripping crime thriller” ~ Robert Bryndza, USA Today bestselling author of The Girl in the Ice

“Scared to Death… moves along at breakneck speed with twists and turns” ~ Angela Marsons, bestselling author of the Detective Kim Stone crime thriller series

“Rachel always delivers sharp, compelling and assured books. I love them!” ~ Mel Sherratt

Email: info@rachelamphlett.com

Twitter: @RachelAmphlett

Instagram: @RachelAmphlett

Facebook: Rachel Amphlett

3 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s