Last Request by Liz Mistry @LizMistryAuthor @HQDigitalUK

Book Description:

‘You only have one shot at this. Your message to someone you love. What is your last request?’

When human remains are discovered under Bradford’s derelict Odeon car park, DS Nikita Parekh and her team are immediately called to the scene.

Distracted by keeping her young nephew out of trouble, Nikki is relieved when the investigation is transferred to the Cold Case Unit, and she can finally focus on her family.
 
But after the identity of the victim is revealed, she’s soon drawn back into the case. The dead man is a direct link to her painful past.
 
As the body count begins to rise, Nikki must do everything she can to stop the killer in their tracks before anyone else gets hurt – even if it means digging up secrets she had long kept hidden…
 
For readers of Angela Marsons and Helen H. Durrant comes a gritty new crime series featuring bold, brave and ferocious D.S. Nikki Parekh.

My Thoughts:

Having loved the authors DI Gus McGuire series, I was very excited to see that she had the first in a new series coming out which has a female protagonist. Even though set in Bradford again, poor DI Gus McGuire didn’t even enter my head whilst I devoured the author’s newest offering.

Firstly I have to say there is quite the cast of characters in the novel. It did take me a while to settle into who everyone was but when I did, I was hooked. Nikki is a great lead who doesn’t have an easy work or home life. A mother who is very much torn between the love of her job and spending time at home and being a good role model.

As the human remains are linked to someone that Nikki knew, we get the ideal opportunity to find out more about Nikki and her past as well as how she works within her team. It’s a great introduction and meant the author doesn’t have to spend time away from the main crime to let the reader get to know the main character better. For me this can sometimes spoil the enjoyment as even though we need to know more about the person we will be routing for, we also want the thrills and chills we get from this sort of book. So well done to the author, as this was spot on for me.

There is plenty going on throughout the story. The case itself I was second guessing who could be behind it all, of which I was totally in the wrong. Kudos again to the author as I was kept guessing all the way through.

Last Request is a great start to a new series with more than a few heart stopping moments. There was never a good time to put the book down as there was always something happening that had me having to keep turning those pages. Needless to say I flew through the book. Can’t wait for more books in the series.

My thanks to NetGalley and HQ Digital for an advanced readers copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

Last Request is available to purchase from Amazon. (Please note that link used is an affiliate link).

5 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s