Her Mother’s Lies by Rona Halsall @RonaHalsallAuth @bookouturedeals

Book Description:

‘She hasn’t told you, has she?’ He squeezed his eyes shut. She watched the muscles of his jaw tense, then his eyes blinked open and he took a deep breath… ‘I’m not your father.’

He was there for her first steps, for her first day of school. He helped her with her homework, and took her for ice cream at the weekends. And then, two days before her ninth birthday, Martha’s father walked out. She never knew what went wrong, but she and her mother Fran never saw or heard from him again.

Fifteen years later, frustrated in a life which consists of caring for an increasingly-ill Fran, and heartbroken after the death of a beloved friend, Martha decides she needs some answers, and she knows it’s time to track down the father who left them behind.

Except when she comes face-to-face with him for the first time in fifteen years, he tells her a brutal truth.

He isn’t her father.

Her mother has been telling lies.

And not just about who her real father is…

A page-turning, gripping psychological thriller for fans of Paula Hawkins, Clare Mackintosh, and C. L. Taylor.

My Thoughts:

Martha’s world pretty much hits rock bottom in more ways than one. Sadly things are about to get even worse.

My heart went out to Martha. The relationship she has with her mother is almost suffocating. In a way it’s like Martha is the adult and her mother is the daughter. She has had to put her life on hold to a certain extent and is having to forgo a lot of things that she wants to do to look after Fran.

This is a story steeped with lies and revelations. Boy when those revelations start coming out, there was no stopping them. One, I had to go back a page and re read it as I was in shock. This author sure knows how to pack a punch. Rocky Balboa has nothing on this particular author when it comes to knocking the breath out of me.

Her Mother’s Lies is a jaw dropping, heart stopping page turner of a read. It should come with a warning as I could feel my heart racing towards the end as the revelations came thick and fast. I can still fill the adrenaline now coursing through me just thinking about it. The author has smashed it again.

My thanks to Bookouture and NetGalley for an advanced readers copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

Her Mother’s Lies is available to purchase from Amazon. (Please note that link used is an affiliate link).

Author Bio: 

Rona lives on the Isle of Man with her husband, two dogs and three guinea pigs. She has been a bookworm since she was a child and now she’s actually creating stories of her own, which still feels like a dream come true. 

She is an outdoorsy person and loves stomping up a mountain, walking the coastal paths and exploring the wonderful beaches on the Island while she’s plotting how to kill off her next victim. She also makes sure she deletes her Google history on a regular basis, because… well, you can’t be too careful when you spend your life researching new and ingenious ways for people to die.

She has three children and two step-children who are now grown up and leading varied and interesting lives, which provides plenty of ideas for new stories!

Social Media Links:

To find out more about Rona’s novels, go to www.facebook.com/RonaHalsallAuthor or follow @RonaHalsallAuth on Twitter.

4 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s