The Mother I Could Have Been by Kerry Fisher @KerryFSwayne @bookouture

Book Description:

Why would you walk away from the one person you can’t live without?

As a child, Vicky Hall never had the sort of family she wanted. The least important person in her new step-family, ignored by her mother in favour of her two younger half-siblings, Vicky was always an afterthought. Sitting alone at her graduation ceremony at the age of twenty-one, she vows to create her own family and her own life, one which is full of the love and attention she has always craved.

When Vicky meets William and falls pregnant in Greece that summer, it isn’t planned. But the two of them believe they can make it work, showering their child with the love which they believe should be enough.

But when her son Theo is two, Vicky leaves him in the care of her mother-in-law, walks out of her front door and drives to a hotel where she takes a room for the night. She doesn’t return.

It’s unthinkable.

What kind of mother does that?

The kind who is hiding a story you can never imagine.

The Mother I Could Have Been is a heartbreaking story of impossible decisions and second chances, from the bestselling author of The Silent Wife and The Woman I Was Before. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Liane Moriarty and Diane Chamberlain.

My Thoughts:

This is a book that once I picked up, it totally consumed me. I ended up reading it in one evening as I was so absorbed by what was in front of me and I had to see how everything was going to end.

Vicky is going to be a character that people are going to ask themselves what they would do in her position. I know I did. As a mother could I ever just walk away? Reading her story though, I had every empathy and could understand why she does what she did.

The story starts off with Vicky and then alternates between Vicky and another mother Caro. Caro even though a lot more maturer in age than Vicky, has issues of her own with her grown up daughter India. I could easily fill a few pages of my thoughts on India. So many times I wanted to give her a good slap and take her down a peg or two.

In a way we see motherhood at two very different stages. With Vicky, the early stages and feeling like you are never quite good enough and the constant self doubts. Caro, we get to see what it’s like in the later years. With a daughter dealing with jealousy and using her children as a bargaining tool to get at her parents. Something that I can not abide.

This is a story very much about bonds and the relationship between parent and child. Vicky’s relationship with her own mother was heartbreaking and in a way, an eye opener. As was India’s with Caro. It makes you sit back and take stock of your own childhood as well as your relationship with your siblings and parents.

The Mother I Could Have Been is an eye opener of a read. It made me reevaluate things in my own life. I loved this insight into motherhood as it really got into my head and heart. It was a story I didn’t want to end as a few of the characters in this book stole a piece of me. A meaningful and endearing read that fully embraced me and didn’t let me go. An absolute must read.

My thanks to NetGalley and Bookouture for an advanced readers copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

The Mother I Could Have Been is available to purchase from Amazon. (Please note that link used is an Amazon Affiliate link).

Kerry Fisher is the bestselling author of five novels, including The Silent Wife and The Secret Child. She was born in Peterborough, studied French and Italian at the University of Bath and spent several years living in Spain, Italy and Corsica. After returning to England to work as a journalist, she eventually abandoned real life stories for the secrets of fictional families. She now lives in Surrey with her husband, two teenage children and a naughty Lab/Schnauzer called Poppy. 
http://www.kerryfisherauthor.com/

https://twitter.com/KerryFSwayne

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s