The Day That Changed Everything by Catherine Miller @bookouture @katylittlelady

Book Description:

When you lose the love of your life, how do you find yourself again?

For Tabitha, the day that changed everything started like any other.

She woke up, slid her feet into fluffy slippers, wrapped herself in a dressing gown and tiptoed out of her bedroom, leaving her husband Andy sleeping. Downstairs, she boiled the kettle and enjoyed a cup of tea as the sun rose.

Upstairs, Andy’s alarm sounded, and Tabitha took him a freshly brewed coffee, like every other morning. Except today, the incessant beeping rang out and her husband hadn’t stirred. She called his name, she nudged his shoulder. But Andy wouldn’t wake up.

Three years later Tabitha is trying her hardest to get by in the shadow of her grief. She may have lost the love of her life but she won’t give up on the family they dreamed of. Fostering troublesome teenage girls and a newborn baby is a chance to piece together her broken heart.

But being a mother isn’t easy, and neither is healing the heartache she carries around. After losing everything, could saving these three children help Tabitha save herself too?

This stunning tale will make you laugh and cry in equal measure, hold your loved ones close and see the beauty in the little things in life. Fans of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult and Diane Chamberlain will love this moving and uplifting story.

My Thoughts:

Having read, loved and sobbed at the authors previous novel, I was dying to read her latest and had a box of tissues on standby, just in case. Whilst some parts are quite sad, more than anything this was a hopeful and uplifting read.

The story flicks between then and now, with then being around the time that Tabitha’s husband dies and now, with Tabitha starting her fostering journey.

Fostering, as much as it can be rewarding, can be really hard work. Especially when two of them are fifteen year old twins. I loved this aspect of the story though and it really pulls on your heart strings at what kids in care have been through. I admired Tabitha for wanting to do it, more so as she is in this on her own.

This is very much a story about overcoming grief and moving on. I loved Tabitha’s character and I felt so much empathy for her as well as mentally encouraging her to keep on going as she struggles with her own grief and being main carer for her foster children.

The Day That Changed Everything had me hooked from the start and I read it in two sittings. It is a gentle and wonderful story that offers it’s reader hope and by the end I was bursting with so many emotions as these characters had worked their way into my heart. An inspiring must read.

My thanks to Bookouture and NetGalley for an advanced readers copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

The Day That Changed Everything is available to purchase from Amazon. (Please note that link used in an Amazon affiliate link).

When Catherine Miller became a mum to twins, she decided her hands weren’t full enough so wrote a novel with every spare moment she managed to find. By the time the twins were two, Catherine had a two-book deal with Carina UK. Her debut novel, Waiting For You, came out in March 2016. Catherine was a NHS physiotherapist, but for health reasons she retired early from this career. As she loved her physiotherapy job, she decided if she couldn’t do that she would pursue her writing dream. It took a few years and a couple of babies, but in 2015 she won the Katie Fforde bursary, was a finalist in the London Book Fair Write Stuff Competition and highly commended in Woman magazine’s writing competition. Since then she’s had four novels published. 
https://katylittlelady.com/
@katylittlelady  

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s