Apartment 6 by Stuart James @StuartJames73 @Bloodhoundbook

Book Description:

Would you have the courage to escape?

Be careful what you wish for… 

When Meagan was five years old her mother was viciously attacked and murdered.

Now an adult, she herself is the victim of an abusive relationship. Meagan is desperate to escape but doesn’t have the courage to leave.

So, when Meagan meets Oliver, a decent guy who is on the rebound after a failed relationship, the two strike up a connection. But when Meagan confesses that her husband is abusive, it leads Oliver down a dark and dangerous path.

Just how far would you go to protect someone?

Oliver is about to find out and be pushed to his very limits…

Apartment 6 is a dark and twisty psychological thriller from bestselling author Stuart James. It’s the perfect read for fans of authors like Mark Edwards, Rachel Abbott and Adam Croft.

My Thoughts:

The story alternates between past and present so we get to see what life was like for Meagan as a 5 year old as well as in present day. Sadly things don’t seem to have got much better.

The opening of this book pulled on my heart strings. It’s obvious Meagan has been subjected to see things that no child should ever see. In her adult life she finds herself a victim of domestic abuse and I was willing her to get out of the toxic relationship.

Oliver is the total opposite of Rob, Meagan’s husband. You can see from the off that he is one of the world’s nice guys. Someone decent and he is instantly drawn to Meagan.

A story line that features domestic abuse, will always make for some uncomfortable reading, the author does it in a way though that will have you gripped to every page and feeling empathy for the victim whilst raging against the perpetrators.

Apartment 6 is a dark, disturbing but wonderfully twisted novel. Time seemed to stand still whilst I lost myself into Meagan’s story and what a story it is to. I was desperate to know how it was all going to end. Let’s just say it was far from what I was expecting and I was like what the? I had to go back and re read part of it as my brain was slower to take in what I was seeing infront of my eyes and I needed to know I had read it right. I had and it knocked me sideways. A chilling but thrilling read that is a must for fans of psychological thrillers.

My thanks to Bloodhound Books for an advanced readers copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

Apartment 6 is available to purchase from Amazon. (Please note that link used is an Amazon affiliate link).

I have always loved scary stories, especially ones that shocked me, left me terrified, looking under my bed or in the wardrobe before going to sleep.
There was just a fantastic buzz whenever I watched or read something that took my breathe away.
I remember going to my nan’s house in Ireland as a youngster with my mother and sister, on the West Coast, staying in a cottage, surrounded by miles of fields and my family sitting around the table in the kitchen at night telling ghost stories. Going out and exploring derelict farmhouses in the middle of nowhere. I remember clearly the field at the end of the road was supposed to be haunted by headless nuns.
My cousins often remind me of the great times we had, frightening each other and running for our lives whenever we’d see something that didn’t look right.
This is why I love nothing more than to tell a story.

I started writing two years ago, penning The House On Rectory Lane.
I got the idea from something that has often seemed scary to me. I know that a terrifying story has to be something that you’re frightened of doing, something that makes the hairs stand on the back of your neck, something that fills you with dread, yet also with excitement.
To me, the thought of going to a house in the middle of nowhere, upping and leaving a busy town and moving to the country is something that scares lots of people and me: the seclusion, the quiet, the darkness.
That’s what inspired me to write my first novel.

My second thriller is called Turn The Other Way.
I have multiple stories running, past and present. A family who want answers from the surgeon responsible for their daughter’s death.
A young woman looking for her parents after they go missing from a party.
A couple driving home and hearing screams for help from the back of the van in front of them.
A serial killer on the loose in North London, dragging victims off the street.

I’m so grateful when people not only read my thrillers but also take the time to get in touch and leave a review. To me, that is the greatest feeling, hearing from people that have enjoyed my work. I know then that I’m doing something right.

I’m currently working on my new thriller, Apartment Six, which should be released later this year.

I’m 45, married and have two beautiful children. Currently, I’m a full-time plumber but would love nothing more than to make a living from my writing.
I hope I write stories and people continue to enjoy them for years to come. That would be completely amazing and a dream come true.
stuartjamesthrillers.com

@StuartJames73

https://www.facebook.com/stuartjamesauthor/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s