The Runaway by Linda Huber @LindaHuber19

Book Description:

Keep your secrets close to home…

Bad things happen in threes – or so it seems to Nicola. The death of her mother-in-law coincides with husband Ed losing his job and daughter Kelly getting into trouble with the police. Time to abandon their London lifestyle and start again by the sea in far-away Cornwall.

It should be the answer to everything – a new home, a new job for Ed and a smaller, more personal school for fifteen-year-old Kelly. But the teenager hates her new life, and it doesn’t take long before events spiral out of control and the second set of bad things starts for Nicola.

Some secrets can’t be buried.
Or… can they?

A gripping family drama, perfect for fans of Diane Chamberlain, Linda Green, and Sophie Hannah.

Linda Huber is the author of psychological suspense novels Stolen Sister, The Cold Cold Sea, Chosen Child, and others.

My Thoughts:

What should be a fresh start in a wonderful area, turns out to be Nicola’s worst nightmare. As a mother, it is so hard juggling work and home life so I had every empathy for her. The move was supposed to mean more time with her daughter and a safer environment away from the big city.

It’s hard to say to much about the story as not a lot is given away in the blurb. The story is one of drama/suspense but definitely has a psychological feel to it. The chapters alternate between a couple of the characters so we get to better understand them and discover what secrets have been hidden.

I loved Kelly’s character, she is a typical teen and she did make my eyes roll at the beginning but that didn’t last long as I had so much sympathy for this young adult. Being taken away from her friends and trying to build new friendships in a new area is definitely not easy to do and she is struggling with the move. As with her mother, things are about to get so much worse for her and this is where she is a shining light in this dark story.

The Runaway is a dark and at times disturbing read. It makes you question how well you really know the ones you love. There is a certain amount of tension and suspense that drew me in and had me hooked. A great story of family dynamics with an unexpected outcome.

My thanks to the author for an advanced readers copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

The Runaway is available to purchase from Amazon.

Linda Huber grew up in Glasgow, Scotland, but went to work in Switzerland for a year aged twenty-two, and has lived there ever since. Her day jobs have included working as a physiotherapist in hospitals and schools for handicapped children, and teaching English in a medieval castle. Currently she teaches one day a week, and writes psychological suspense novels and feel-good novellas with (most of) the rest of her time.

Her writing career began in the nineties, when she had over fifty short stories published in women’s magazines before turning to psychological suspense fiction. The Runaway is her ninth book, and is set mostly in Cornwall, where she spent several happy holidays as a child.

Linda’s other project is a series of feel-good novellas written under the pen name Melinda Huber and set on the banks of Lake Constance, just minutes from her home in north-east Switzerland. She really appreciates having the views enjoyed by her characters right on her own doorstep!

Links:
Amazon Author Page: viewAuthor.at/LindaHuber

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/authorlindahuber

Twitter: https://twitter.com/LindaHuber19

Instagram:  https://www.instagram.com/linda.huberch/ websitehttp://lindahuber.net/

2 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s