Hackney Central by Michael K Foster

Book Description:

Walk these streets at your peril!

When newly appointed Detective Sergeant Jack Mason steps through the doors of Hackney Central Police Station, he is tasked with his biggest nightmare. A pensioner lies dead, his flat has been ransacked, and no one is willing to talk.

But why pick on a vulnerable old man?

No stranger to London’s East End, Mason is under no illusion that the chance of finding the killer is slim. Gripped by notorious drug gangs, knife crime runs rife, and nowhere appears safe.

With time rapidly running out, it soon becomes clear that he’s dealing with a version of justice terrifyingly different to his own. . .
You’ll be hooked from the start by this gripping crime thriller. There’s tension, suspense, and a plot full of twists and turns. Why not find out more about Jack Mason’s early career, and order your copy today.

The series in order:

The Wharf Butcher (Book 1)
Satan’s Beckoning (Book 2)
The Suitcase Man (Book 3)
Chameleon (Book 4)
Hackney Central (Book 5]

My Thoughts:

This is another series where I am late to the party. Being the fifth book in the DCI Jack Mason series, I am very late to it indeed. Saying that though, the author made it easy reading in that I didn’t feel like I should have read the previous books before this one. It reads perfectly well as a standalone.

Set in the early nineties, in the East End of London, I didn’t envy Mason with his latest case. The thugs that he finds himself facing had me feeling uneasy. Gangs are something that sadly have never died out and seem more rife in the inner-city areas where crime is rife. It all adds to the pressure of him trying to do his job, especially in his new role of Detective Sergeant.

We find out enough about Mason and his home life throughout the course of the book. I enjoyed getting to know him better without it taking to much away from the storyline itself.

Hackney Central was a great introduction to a new author to me. At less than 200 pages, it was a relatively quick and compulsive read. It was great to see some good old fashioned police work with a case that makes for some dark and tense reading. Will definitely be checking out the authors other books.

My thanks to the author for an advanced readers copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

Hackney Central is available to purchase from Amazon.

Michael K Foster has been writing crime thriller novels since 2006, all of them based in and around the North East of England. His bestselling debut novel, ‘The Wharf Butcher’, was released in 2015 and offers a unique insight into this rugged landscape. He has now written six full-length novels featuring the hard-hitting DCI Jack Mason and local criminal profiler David Carlisle. His latest book in the series, ‘Hackney Central, is scheduled for release on 23rd April 2020.

Michael was born in Plymouth, England. After ten years’ service in the British Army, he moved to Newcastle where he gained an MBA degree from Sunderland University. A former Magistrate, he now writes full time and lives with his wife Pauline in County Durham.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100010775401631

Goodreads Author Page: https://www.goodreads.com/author/dashboard

Website: www.michaelkfoster.com

1 thought on “Hackney Central by Michael K Foster”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s