The Sister In Law by Sue Watson @bookouture @suewatsonwriter

Book Description:

‘You don’t think Jamie and I have secrets, do you? No, we tell each other everything.’ She smiled. ‘Including your dirty little secret. So, thinking about it, maybe it’s time to start being nice to me?’

THE WIFE: Clare is ready for a break. It’s been a tough year and now she wants to put her feet up. Arriving at the Italian villa for their summer holiday, she decides it’s high time her husband and his family did some of the work. After all, her husband owes her…

THE HUSBAND: Even though Dan had his head turned by someone else, he’s realised the error of his ways. He’s here now, and he says it’s for keeps. Clare can trust him, can’t she? At least he’ll have his brother there, to keep him in line…

THE BROTHER: Jamie is the prodigal child, back in the family fold again, after years of travelling abroad. But when he gets to the villa, he’s not alone. He’s brought a wife, someone none of them have met before.

THE SISTER-IN-LAW: Ella is everything Clare isn’t. Glamorous. Young. Influential. But she knows a secret about Clare. Something that has the power to break the whole family apart.

And there’s someone who will do whatever it takes to make sure that this deep secret never comes to the surface.

An utterly unputdownable, gripping, twisty psychological thriller perfect for fans of Before I Go To SleepThe Girl on the Train and Date Night.

My Thoughts:

I loved being transported to Italy in this gripping psychological thriller. Where better to set a story? It gave some much needed warmth to a story that will send shivers down your spine.

Clare’s family holiday looks set to be like every other year and she is looking forward to relaxing whilst hopefully patching up her marriage. This is a close family who do everything together. At times it felt quite suffocating and Clare is a better woman than I am as I could feel my blood boiling at times.

Ella, you have to read and get to know this character to understand my pure dislike of her. Clare is slightly taken aback when she firsts meet Ella but then looks forward to having an ally. It doesn’t take long to realise that Ella is far from being that. She knows a secret about Clare and I was desperate to know just what.

When Ella arrives, the story takes a sudden turn. Things become a whole lot more interesting with her around and I was literally on the edge of my seat waiting for the fun and games to begin. The story gets tenser so that at times it is almost electrifying. I could hardly control myself in my desperation to discover what secrets were being hidden.

The Sister In Law is an enthralling page turner that I defy anyone to try and put down. The author sets the scene, drawing you into the surroundings making you feel almost part of the story. She captured my mind, sending it into a whirl wind of the whys and who. The revelations were both mesmerising and shocking and make for a totally addictive read.

My thanks to Bookouture and NetGalley for an advanced readers copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

The Sister In Law is available to purchase from Amazon.

Sue Watson was a TV Producer at the BBC until she wrote her first book and was hooked.

Now a USA Today bestselling author, Sue has written fifteen novels – many involving cake – which have been translated into several languages and involved tough ‘cake research.’ Sue is now exploring the darker side of life with her thrillers OUR LITTLE LIES, THE WOMAN NEXT DOOR, THE EMPTY NEST and THE SISTER-IN-LAW. Writing in this new genre doesn’t involve the deep research of baked goods and Sue’s hoping the change in direction will be reflected on the weighing scales.

Originally from Manchester, Sue now lives with her husband and teenage daughter in Worcestershire where much of her day is spent writing – okay, procrastinating, eating and watching ‘My 600lb Life,’ on the sofa.

more info visit Sue’s website; http://www.suewatsonbooks.com/

Sue would love to meet you on FaceBook at https://www.facebook.com/suewatsonbooks

Follow Sue on Twitter @suewatsonwriter  

2 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s