One Mistake by Rona Halsall @RonaHalsallAuth @bookouture

Book Description:

How far would you go to protect your happy home?

Sara made one promise to herself when she was growing up in foster care: that if she was lucky enough to have a family, she’d always do whatever it took to protect them. Looking around her home with its cosy kitchen and living room, where her energetic teenage daughters and gorgeous four-year-old son all eat, play and live together, she knows she’d do anything to keep them safe.

So when Sara’s husband Matt loses his job and every shred of his confidence with it, she knows it’s up to her to bring the family back from the brink. Though she doesn’t know where she can possibly find the money they need to keep afloat.

Until her boss at work offers her a deal. He’ll help out. She just has to do him one little favour. But could trusting him save Sara’s family, or will it be a mistake that costs her absolutely everything?

This year’s most gripping psychological thriller – perfect for fans of My Lovely WifeThe Girl on the Train, and Something in the Water.

My Thoughts:

Sara is fairly happy with her life. She is married to a man she loves, has three children and has a pretty much stable life. The only thing she wishes, is that she could do more with her career. You know how the saying goes though, be careful what you wish for.

I really felt for Matt and Sara when he breaks the news of losing his job. Financial worries are a massive strain and it isn’t long before it starts putting a strain on their relationship. My heart went out to Sara who is doing her best to try and makes things okay. Whilst she mainly stays at home looking after the kids, she does help out at the community centre and it seems the perfect idea to increase her hours there.

James her boss, I really didn’t know what to make of him. He seems a genuinely nice guy but to nice if you know what I mean? To not only help Sara out but to take her out for lunches and dinners, alarm bells started to ring in my head. The further into the story I got the more I was urging Sara to steer well clear.

The relationship between Hailey and Sara, I enjoyed. Through her relationship with her sister, we get to find out what life was like for the two of them when they were children. It certainly wasn’t the most happiest of upbringings but helps the reader to see how it’s moulded the pair into who they are today.

One Mistake is a novel that kept me on the edge of my seat all the way through. As the story goes along, I was constantly taken unaware of the direction the author was sending me. I thought the story was heading one way only for it spin me around, hurtling me in another direction. I loved that it kept taking me by surprise, sending my heart and pulse racing. A nail biter of a read where the suspense doesn’t let up. Loved it!

My thanks to Bookouture and NetGalley for an advanced readers copy of this book All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

One Mistake is available to purchase from Amazon.

Rona lives on the Isle of Man with her husband, two dogs and three guinea pigs. She has been a bookworm since she was a child and now she’s actually creating stories of her own, which still feels like a dream come true. 

She is an outdoorsy person and loves stomping up a mountain, walking the coastal paths and exploring the wonderful beaches on the Island while she’s plotting how to kill off her next victim. She also makes sure she deletes her Google history on a regular basis, because… well, you can’t be too careful when you spend your life researching new and ingenious ways for people to die.

She has three children and two step-children who are now grown up and leading varied and interesting lives, which provides plenty of ideas for new stories!

Social Media Links:

To find out more about Rona’s novels, go to www.facebook.com/RonaHalsallAuthor or follow @RonaHalsallAuth on Twitter.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s