The House On Rectory Lane by Stuart James @StuartJames73 @Bloodhoundbook

Book Description:

How could a dream move turn into such a nightmare?

Jake and Kate live in London but after an altercation with a stranger who threatens Jake with a knife, they take their son and move to a house in the woods.

It’s their dream home, or so they think until people in the village warn them they shouldn’t have come.

Their neighbours are strange and when Kate sees a face at the window, the family realise they might be in danger.

When they find a tape hidden in the loft of the house, a video recording of the previous family who once lived there, it chills them to the bone.

They soon realise that the family living there before them have disappeared and they too could now be next.

What is the mystery surrounding the house on Rectory Lane?

Jake and Kate are about to find out…

Stuart James is also the author of the bestselling Apartment 6The House On Rectory Lane is a dark and twisty psychological thriller. It’s the perfect read for fans of authors like Mark Edwards, Rachel Abbott and Adam Croft. 

My Thoughts:

This is a story that definitely shows that if things are to good to be true, they usually are.

I couldn’t blame the characters for wanting to escape the hustle and bustle of London for the tranquillity of a house in the countryside. Especially when they are getting a lot of house and land for their money. Whilst needing a bit of work, you could easily envision this being a wonderful family home when done.

After they move in, it doesn’t take long for weird and strange things to start happening, especially when they realise why they got such a good deal on the house. Some parts gave me goosebumps and probably best not to read on a night in a darkened room unless you want nightmares.

There is a mixture of police work and Jake trying to get to the bottom of what exactly is going on. Wow! All I can say is that never in my wildest dreams would I have ever have guessed just what it was.

The House On Rectory Lane is very much a horror/psychological thriller. There are plenty of hair raising moments that made my jaw drop wide open at what I was reading. It was certainly thrilling and had me on the edge of my seat. The twists and turns were just utterly brilliant and added to the pace and tension of the story. My new favourite book by the author. What a belter!

My thanks to Bloodhound Books for an advanced readers copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

The House On Rectory Lane is available to purchase from Amazon.

I have always loved scary stories, especially ones that shocked me, left me terrified, looking under my bed or in the wardrobe before going to sleep.
There was just a fantastic buzz whenever I watched or read something that took my breathe away.
I remember going to my nan’s house in Ireland as a youngster with my mother and sister, on the West Coast, staying in a cottage, surrounded by miles of fields and my family sitting around the table in the kitchen at night telling ghost stories. Going out and exploring derelict farmhouses in the middle of nowhere. I remember clearly the field at the end of the road was supposed to be haunted by headless nuns.
My cousins often remind me of the great times we had, frightening each other and running for our lives whenever we’d see something that didn’t look right.
This is why I love nothing more than to tell a story.

I started writing two years ago, penning The House On Rectory Lane.
I got the idea from something that has often seemed scary to me. I know that a terrifying story has to be something that you’re frightened of doing, something that makes the hairs stand on the back of your neck, something that fills you with dread, yet also with excitement.
To me, the thought of going to a house in the middle of nowhere, upping and leaving a busy town and moving to the country is something that scares lots of people and me: the seclusion, the quiet, the darkness.
That’s what inspired me to write my first novel.

My second thriller is called Turn The Other Way.
I have multiple stories running, past and present. A family who want answers from the surgeon responsible for their daughter’s death.
A young woman looking for her parents after they go missing from a party.
A couple driving home and hearing screams for help from the back of the van in front of them.
A serial killer on the loose in North London, dragging victims off the street.

I’m so grateful when people not only read my thrillers but also take the time to get in touch and leave a review. To me, that is the greatest feeling, hearing from people that have enjoyed my work. I know then that I’m doing something right.
My third thriller, Apartment Six, was published in January of this year. 

I’m 45, married and have two beautiful children. Currently, I’m a full-time plumber but would love nothing more than to make a living from my writing.
I hope I write stories and people continue to enjoy them for years to come. That would be completely amazing and a dream come true. 

stuartjamesthrillers.com

@StuartJames73

https://www.facebook.com/stuartjamesauthor/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s