Fair Means Or Foul by Keith Wright @KeithWWright

Fair Means Or Foul is available to purchase from Amazon. (Please note that link used is an Amazon affiliate link)

Book Description:

The man sitting at the wheel of the car was 100 yards from his moment of destiny. He was oblivious to it, of course. Murderers don’t necessarily realise they are killers until a few seconds before it happens. Murderers are sometimes just like you and me. He would never have dreamed that such a thing might happen. Ridiculous. If anyone had told him that today was the day he would turn into a killer, he would have looked at them quizzically; questioning their sanity; instead of questioning his own.
The murder investigation into the death of a young girl at Nottingham’s Goose Fair throws up several suspects, close to home and further away. The stream of inquiries spirals into a climax, and suddenly another young life hangs in the balance.
Detective Inspector Stark and his team prepare to do anything to stop further bloodshed. They are willing to use any means necessary, whether it be fair means or foul.
In his fourth crime thriller, critically acclaimed author, Keith Wright, once again regales the stark reality of murder, derived from his hands-on experience as a CID detective sergeant working in an inner-city area.

My Thoughts:

Fair Means Or Foul is a book in the Detective Inspector Stark crime series and is a self contained story which can easily be read as a standalone. Set in the 1980’s this is a great insight into how crimes were solved before a lot of the modern technology that we take for granted in these present times.

The killer’s identity is kept hidden from the reader so it made for an even more fun read as I tried to work out who it was. As each new suspect comes into the equation, I had each and every one of them down as suspects and kept swapping my mind as to which one it could be. When all is revealed, even though I had suspected them, I was still in shock at who it was.

There are some really unlikable characters in this book. The parents of the murdered school girl for starters. I wanted to have empathy for them but their behaviour left me feeling very little for them. They are self centred and like Stark and his team, I was appalled at times by how they were acting.

The author yet again writes in a matter of fact way with a straight talking protagonist who has no airs or graces. For someone with his title, I really enjoy how he gets stuck into a case and will do no matter what to solve it. Even if it does mean him getting into trouble.

Fair Means Or Foul was another entertaining read in the series. Towards the end, as I would usually expect with a crime book, it picks up pace and have to say I was holding my breath at certain points waiting to see if they catch their killer before he strikes again. It certainly sent my heart racing that’s for sure. A gripping read that by the end, will have you frantically turning those pages.

My thanks to the author for a readers copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

Keith Wright is the Author of the crime novels in the ‘Inspector Stark series’ available on Amazon, Kindle and Kindle Unlimited|Audiobook on Audible and iTunes.

Visit website: Keithwrightauthor.co.uk

Follow on twitter: @keithwwright

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s