A Wish For Jinnie by Audrey Davis @audbyname @rararesources

A Wish For Jinnie is available to purchase from Amazon. (Please note that link used is an Amazon affiliate link)

Book Description:

Have you ever felt that life has got it in for you? Jinnie Cooper certainly does.

Unlucky in love, broke and exiled to a sleepy Scottish village, she really needs to shake things up.

When she gains possession of a battered old lamp, Jinnie’s world changes in ways she could never have imagined. With her affections divided between two men, can her unlikely housemate help – or hinder – the path to happiness?

Packed with mystical mayhem and a liberal sprinkling of magic, it’s a laugh-out-loud rollercoaster ride with a cast of characters you’ll take to your heart.

Perfect for fans of Debbie Viggiano, Carole Matthews and Jill Mansell.

My Thoughts:

I was really intrigued when I read the blurb for the book. Who doesn’t love a good romance story and my interest piqued at the mention of the lamp. All becomes very clear though and at first I was slightly dubious at how the story was going to work as you do have to suspend your belief somewhat. That being said, this element actually made the story so much more fun.

There was lots to love about this novel. The wonderful small village. The fabulously named businesses. Of course none of that would work without a great cast and I thoroughly enjoyed getting to know the ones in this book. My favourites had to be Jinnie and cafe/bakery owner, Jo. Jo is like a mother hen and instantly takes Jinnie under her wing. There is one more character who threatens to steal the limelight more than a few times but that’s all you are going to get out of me where they are concerned!

What I also enjoyed is there are a good few male characters of which you don’t always see. Ken the pub landlord and his son Ed and of course Sam, the antique shop owner. The thread involving Ken and his wife was something that tugged on my heart strings. It also gives food for thought.

A Wish For Jinnie is a gorgeous and heartfelt read with a few laughs along the way. The friendships are what makes this book. I think a lesson could be learned from Jinnie with her acts of kindness and I adored this light hearted read which has given some much welcomed relief from the outside world. The perfect ‘pick me’ up read.

My thanks to Rachel’s Random Resources for a readers copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

Audrey Davis is a Scottish-born former journalist, now resident in Switzerland. Her newspaper career saw her cover events in Northern Ireland and the Falkland Islands, as well as working for a London-based movie magazine writing reviews and carrying out interviews.

She self-published her debut romantic comedy novel A Clean Sweep in June 2017, following an online Open University course in Writing Fiction.

Audrey followed up with a short, darker prequel A Clean Break before beginning work on a rom-com novella trilogy with a ghostly twist – The Haunting of Hattie Hastings. Again, reviews across the board were excellent, and it was combined into a standalone novel in November 2018.

A Wish For Jinnie is her third standalone novel.

Apart from writing, Audrey enjoys travel and spends a lot of time in Edinburgh. She is an avid cook, watcher of scary movies and reluctant gym-goer.

Social Media Links –

Twitter: @audbyname

https://www.facebook.com/audreydavisbooks/

https://www.instagram.com/cowieaudrey/

3 comments

  1. I’m reading this and loving it too. Audrey’s writing is getting better and better. I don’t understand why she hasn’t been picked up by a publisher. They are missing a trick.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s