In My Wake by Ruth Harrow @ruth_harrow

In My Wake is available to purchase from Amazon. (Please note that link used is an Amazon affiliate link)

Book Description:

SOME SECRETS ARE BEST KEPT BURIED… BUT SOMEONE WON’T LET HER FORGET…

Decades ago, the disturbing disappearance of an eleven-year-old girl shook the tiny village Hannah grew up in. Now Hannah receives the shock of her life when she is told her sister, April, has committed suicide. Distraught, she returns to her childhood home for the funeral.

But someone who refuses to forget the past has sickening shocks in store for the grieving family and soon latch onto Hannah instead, leaving her looking over her shoulder at every turn.

Now the nightmares aren’t only inside Hannah’s head …

The close-knit community is rattled as devastating secrets and unspeakable truths are shaken up and it seems everyone has a secret to hide …

Hannah feels her grip on reality slipping as she starts to suspect even those closest to her – including her husband Will. April had uttered words of warning against him, but was it merely jealousy? Or does Hannah truly have something to fear from the father of her child?

Could the danger be closer to home than she realises?

And why is Hannah’s own father insisting that the past should remain in the past?

In My Wake is an unputdownable psychological thriller about a woman forced to confront her devastating past. Fans of K.L. Slater, Shalini Boland, Laura Marshall and The Silent Patient will love the shocking twists and unexpected revelations.

My Thoughts:

Hannah returns to her childhood home and the village she grew up in for the funeral of her sister. It doesn’t take long before sinister things start to happen, leaving the reader wondering what secrets are being kept hidden from us.

An event from the past has left an impact on Hannah. As well as on others it would seem. It was sad to see that it affected Hannah and her sister’s relationship to the point that they didn’t see each other. Whilst I had empathy for some of the characters, I can’t say that any were overly likeable. I think this might be to do with their actions and how they deal with things. It doesn’t make for any of a less enjoyable read though.

The classic small village setting adds to the tension of the story with everyone knowing each others business. The author cleverly throws some red herrings into the equation to lead you off course so that when certain reveals come, they take the reader by surprise. The flicks between past and present I enjoyed as it allows us to get to know April, Hannah’s sister, better as well as add intrigue as to what is happening in present day.

In My Wake is a tense and dark read. The authors writing was compelling and had me saying to myself that I would read ‘just one more chapter’ as I was keen to find out what these characters were hiding. Of course, I couldn’t stop at just one more chapter and it didn’t take me long before I had devoured the book. A worthy read for fans who love psychological thrillers.

Ruth Harrow was born and raised in London and graduated from the
University of Kent before embarking on an unfulfilling career as an
accountant.
She eventually put pen to paper and her debut psychological thriller, In
Her Footsteps, was published in 2018 and quickly became a bestseller.
Following the success of her first novel, her second book, You’re All
Mine, was released in 2019. Her third psychological thriller, In My Wake
will arrive on 16th July 2020.
She lives in Colchester with her husband, two children and chocolate
Labrador, Rolo.
For more information and to get exclusive updates about future books
please visit: RuthHarrow.com

Twitter: @ruth_harrow

Sign up here to get updates for news and releases: https://ruthharrow.com/notification-list/

2 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s