The Greatest Of Enemies by B R Maycock @BRMaycock @rararesources

The Greatest of Enemies is available from Amazon. (Please note that link used is an Amazon affiliate link)

Book Description:

Light the blue touch paper and stand back. Fireworks are about to go off!

Bex has settled into her new life in the small town of Abbyglen. Setting up a new cafe, blogging and her day job keeps her busy and happy.

Louise is ready to return to the comfort of Abbeyglen. Okay, so it isn’t her favourite place to be, but once she can talk the problems of the last few years over with best friend Holly, she can begin to move forward.

But when Louise arrives on the scene and instead finds an unwanted stranger in friend Holly’s apartment it’s handbags at dawn and all the hours in between as Bex and Louise cross swords. Who will win? Let the battle commence …

Perfect for fans of Sophie KinsellaChristie Barlow and Rosie Green.

The Greatest of Enemies is book 2 of a series but can be read on it’s own if you are so inclined!

Book 1 of the Abbeyglen series is Pushing her Luck

My Thoughts:

This is the second book in the Abbeyglen series. As the author focuses on a different character this time as well as giving the reader enough information for what you need to know from the previous one, I do think it works well as a standalone.

Louise, although mentioned in the first book in the series, we don’t get to meet until this one and what an entrance. I have to say Bex is more of a patient woman than I could ever be where Louise is concerned. It took me a long while to warm up to her and having loved Holly in the previous book, I couldn’t believe that these two were best of friends. They couldn’t be anymore different!

Bex, I loved and I had so much empathy for her having to put up with Louise as well as issues with her job. She has a lot on her plate but still tries to be positive and upbeat and be a good friend to Louise in Holly’s absence. Which I have to say is no small feat in itself.

As a novella, it didn’t take me long to devour it as the author kept me fully engaged through out. I love the setting and the characters, although there are some more likeable than others that’s for sure! I had some eye roll moments going on where one particular character called Sam was concerned. It made me glad that I’m not part of the dating scene anymore.

The Greatest of Enemies is a fun and heartwarming story which focuses on friendships and relationships in general. Whilst there are glimmers of romance, that felt more in the background as we watch two very different women being pushed into trying to make the best of things with some entertaining results. After how the author ends this one, I am more than eager to read the next in the series!

My thanks to Rachel’s Random Resources and the author for an advanced readers copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

Author Bio –  When B R Maycock (Berni to all you lovely people!) isn’t dreaming up vibrant leads for romantic comedies, she’s ingesting books for her blog (https://brmaycock.wordpress.com/), in particular chick lit (her first love!) books, romantic comedies and thrillers. She can also be found playing footie or watching Marvel, DC or Star Wars movies and cartoons in Co. Westmeath, Ireland with her brilliantly out there husband, Keith, and their four epic little men.

Her debut ‘It Started With A Snub’ and Christmas romantic comedy ‘Snowday’ are available now on Amazon, as is Pushing Her Luck, the first of a series about AbbeyGlen Village, whose luck is about to change …

She has one goal and that’s simply to make readers smile and/ or laugh (a splutter rates highest;)).

Social Media Links –

BRMaycock’s book Blog  https://brmaycock.wordpress.com

Twitter (@BRMaycock)  – https://twitter.com/brmaycock?lang=en

Bookbub  – https://www.bookbub.com/profile/b-r-maycock

Instagramhttps://www.instagram.com/brmaycock/

 Facebook  – https://www.facebook.com/BRMaycockWriter/

Goodreads  – https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/14023632.B_R_Maycock

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s