You Let Him In by JA Andrews @HeraBooks @jasona1980

You Let Him In is available to purchase from Amazon. (Please note that link used is an Amazon affiliate link)

Book Description:

The only thing she was guilty of was trusting him

All Jenny Clifton ever wanted was to be the ideal wife and mother. When she married Michael in a fairytale wedding, followed by the birth of baby Daniel, her life was complete.

Yet just three years later, the shine has faded. Now, money is tight, and the occasional argument has become daily screaming matches between Jenny and Michael.

Something needs to change… and it does, when Michael is killed in a brutal hit and run, breathing his last with a stranger holding his hand.

Lonely and distraught, Jenny strikes up an unlikely friendship with the witness to the accident, clinging to the connection with the man who watched Michael die.

But as she uncovers the secrets that her husband was keeping, Jenny realises that her perfect life may have been a perfect lie – and worse, that her new friend may be harbouring dangerous secrets of his own…

A gripping, twisty psychological thriller packed with suspense and a jaw-dropping
ending. Fans of T.M. Logan, C.L. Taylor and K.L. Slater won’t be able to put this one down.

My Thoughts:

I enjoyed the authors debut novel and couldn’t wait to see what he came up with next. Well it didn’t disappoint. If anything I thought this one was even better.

The story alternates between different characters within the story so we get to see what is going on their heads. I wouldn’t say that the characters were overly likeable but then they don’t have to be in this genre. Saying that, I did have empathy for Jenny and what she was going through.

This is a story that asks the question of how well we really know our loved ones. On the death of her husband, Jenny starts to realise that she didn’t know her husband that well at all. Relationships are fraught with Michael’s parents and Jenny often at loggerheads in dealing with their own grief and how things should be done. In a way I could see both points of view.

I won’t say anymore about the story as definitely knowing less will make this a lot more of a fun read. From the opening chapter I was well and truly hooked and I struggled to put it down as I had to know what secrets Michael had kept from Jenny and what certain characters real motives were. The pace and tension towards the end was electrifying and I could feel my heart racing as we headed towards that all important conclusion.

You Let Him In is such a compelling story that will have you keep on turning those pages. It is full of secrets and lies and the suspense had me on the edge of my seat. I felt like the author was toying with my mind having it run away with itself as I tried to guess just what was happening or going to. I loved the ending and was what pushed this into a five star read. This is an author to definitely get excited about.

My thanks to Hera books for an advanced readers copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

JA Andrews is an author of dark psychological thrillers with books published by Hera, having given up gaming journalism to write novels. When he’s not thinking about sinister plot lines, he often enjoys kickboxing, traveling abroad to sunny climates and reality television shows. Can also be found on Twitter @JasonA1980

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s