The Wife by Shalini Boland @ShaliniBoland @bookouture

The Wife is available to purchase from Amazon.

Book Description:

Zoe fainted on her wedding day, and she never knew why. She’s always felt sure something bad happened. Ten years later, she’s going to find out what…

It was supposed to be the happiest day of her life. Zoe was sitting in her hotel room, in her perfect white dress, looking forward to the moment when she would make kind, handsome Toby her husband.

Then, there was a blank.

They said she must have fainted, overcome with emotion. But nothing felt quite right afterwards. Did something happen in that missing time?

Now, Toby and Zoe have two beautiful children and a perfect life. They’re planning their ten-year anniversary party for their family and friends. The invitations have been sent, the food ordered. They’re going back to the grand hotel where they got married.

But as the anniversary gets closer, it becomes clear not everyone is looking forward to celebrating. Zoe catches Toby lying about where he’s been. One of her best friends seems to be ignoring her. And someone is spreading stories that might stop the party from happening at all.

Zoe is increasingly sure that she doesn’t have the full story. But does she want to know the truth, if it will destroy everything?

From the million-copy bestselling author, this totally gripping psychological thriller will have you hooked from the first page to the last jaw-dropping twist. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the TrainGone Girl and The Wife Between Us.

My Thoughts:

I should know by now to never pick one of this author’s books up on a night just before going to bed. Yet again though, that is exactly what I did. Before I knew it I was half way through with a tough decision of how important was sleep really? Did I carry on and be shattered the next day or put it down and count the hours down until I could pick it back up after my working day?

Zoe seems to have it all. Happily married and still very much in love with her husband Toby even after so many years and two children. They don’t really want anything and in general have a good life. On the brink of their ten year wedding anniversary though, odd things start to happen of which Zoe as well as the reader is unsure of whether it’s just in her head or is something more sinister afoot.

The pacing of this story made it impossible to put down. It starts off steady and increases throughout. I felt like I was in some sort of go cart going downhill of which I had no control over how fast it was going. As we neared the end, well it had me clinging on for dear life as everything in Zoe’s life unravels quickly making for some shocking twists and turns.

The Wife should come with a warning as it had my heart racing as well as suffering with lack of sleep. The story was so addictive and I couldn’t get enough. Bravo Shalini, you have delivered yet another thrilling and gripping psychological thriller. 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s