Coming Home to Hope Street by Marcie Steele @marcie_steele

Coming Home to Hope Street is available to purchase from Amazon. (Please note that link used is an Amazon affiliate link)

Book Description:

Step across the cobblestones, pull back the curtains and peek behind the doors in the second instalment of The Hope Street Series. Catch up with old friends and fall in love with new ones in a story of friendship, second chances and new beginnings.



Livvy has no choice but to return to Hope Street, the childhood home she left over twenty years ago. Along with her sixteen-year-old daughter, Pip, she turns up on the doorstep, hoping for forgiveness from her sister.



Hannah thought she’d never see Livvy again. She’s overwhelmed with emotion but locks away her real feelings. How could Livvy stay away without any contact? And why has she come back now?



It isn’t long before the charm of the market town of Somerley begins to work its magic. Hannah is opening a book shop in the square, adjoining The Coffee Stop, and Livvy’s offer to help out brings the sisters closer together.



But when someone from Livvy’s past arrives unannounced too, he threatens everything she’s built up since her return. Can Livvy convince her sister, and her new friends, that her intentions to return were good ones? Or will her dreams of settling down and being happy again become nothing but a closed book?



If you love an uplifting story, then Coming Home to Hope Street is the perfect feel-good read to curl up with. Ideal for fans of Hannah Ellis, Holly Martin and Emily Harvale.

My Thoughts:

This is the second book in The Hope Street series and whilst can be read as a standalone, I would personally recommend reading The Man Across the Street to get the most enjoyment out of this series and of course because it’s a fabulous book also.

Whilst the previous book features Hannah, in this one, even though Hannah is still a big part of the story, it focuses more on her sister Livvy. Like Hannah’s friend Pheobe, I had my doubts to why Livvy and her daughter were back and what had made her go off like she did when she was younger and have nothing to do with her family since. Whilst I was waiting for these questions to be answered, I loved getting to know these new characters as they certainly have big personalities.

I so enjoyed this story. I like how the author brings to life a realistic story where everything isn’t always rosy. At the end of the day real life has it’s ups and downs and we get to see this through Hope Street. It was good to experience the highs and lows with the residents and yet again I loved the whole community feel you get with these books.

Coming Home To Hope Street is an easy, light read that leaves you on a high. It’s one of those stories that is a reminder of what is important in this life. I was sucked straight in from the start and the author’s story telling had me fully engaged throughout. If you are looking for a homely, feel good read, then this couldn’t be anymore perfect.

My thanks to the author for an advanced readers copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

Bio:

Marcie Steele is the pen name of Mel Sherratt. For as long as she can remember, she’s been a meddler of words. Born and raised in Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire, she’s a romantic at heart and has always enjoyed writing about characters that fall in and out of love, have good friends to hang around with, and live in communities with great spirit. 

She can often be found sitting in her favourite coffee shop, sipping a cappuccino and eating a chocolate chip cookie, either catching up with friends or writing on her laptop. Whether she writes crime or women’s fiction, she loves making up things for a living.

You can find more about Marcie Steele on Mel Sherratt’s website www.melsherratt.co.uk  at Twitter:  https://twitter.com/writermels and at Facebook https://www.facebook.com/MelSherrattauthor/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s