UNDER VIOLENT SKIES by JUDI DAYKIN @norfolknovelist @JoffeBooks @Booksnall2020 #GuestReview

Under Violent Skies is available to purchase from Amazon. (Please note that link used is an Amazon affiliate link)

Book Description:

DISCOVER A TALENTED NEW CRIME WRITER

SET UNDER THE BROODING SKIES OF NORTH NORFOLK. MEET SARA HIRST AS SHE SEARCHES FOR HER LOST FATHER AND FINDS THAT GREAT BEAUTY SOMETIMES CONCEALS GREAT VIOLENCE.

Detective Sara Hirst has moved from London to Norfolk Police’s Serious Crimes Unit. She wants to know the truth about her father, who has connections to the area. Her mother won’t tell her the real story.

A NEW JOB. A NEW PLACE. SAME OLD PROBLEMS.

Sara’s first call-out is to a decomposing body discovered in a ditch on a local farm. How does the murder relate to a recent spate of thefts? Who wanted the victim dead?

THEN THE CASE GROWS VERY PERSONAL . . .

Perfect for fans of Joy Ellis, JM Dalgliesh or Angela Marsons, this explosive debut will have you turning the pages till the stunning end.

Beverley’s review:

A new author for me from JOFFE Publishers and I must say it’s a cracking read.
Sara moves into her new flat in central Norwich. meet’s new neighbour Chris and he owns the
coffee shop across the road, he seems nice but a bit keen, she has such a lot of unpacking to do
after moving up from London to seek out who her real father is.
Sara is starting a new job at the police HQ in a small town in Wymondham, just a half hour away.
D.S. Sara Hirst sets off for her first day to meet the team and hope’s they all get along, reports of
farm thefts in the countryside of Norfolk, the character’s I was soon drawn into them all as I read.
in this scenic quiet surrounding’s a body in a ditch is found, and named Adam Crane is a retired
Detective Sergeant it’s murder and he sounds familiar to Sara only time will tell.
Wow under violent skies is a book that will shock you with a secret, that Sara needs answers too.
A good first novel that I enjoyed right through to the end.

Yorkshire born, Judi has lived, worked and made theatre in Norfolk for the last forty
years. She completed her MA in Creative Writing (Crime Fiction) at the University of
East Anglia (UEA), and her debut novel was shortlisted for the Little, Brown UEA
writer’s prize in 2019.
‘I love the beautiful, vast skies and watery landscapes of Norfolk. Our home in a village
on the north coast can feel wonderfully remote, even though the nearest town is only a
few miles away. I can’t imagine living anywhere better than this.’
Judi is also a working actor, and has been known to twiddle the knobs on the sound
desk for the variety shows at Cromer Pier. She runs her own theatre company, Broad
Horizons, specialising in commissioning new plays recovering and retelling women’s
stories.
FOLLOW JUDI ON
FACEBOOK
TWITTER

3 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s