The Ice Killer by Ross Greenwood @BoldwoodBooks @greenwoodross @rararesources

The Ice Killer is available to purchase from Amazon. (Please note that link used is an Amazon affiliate link)

Book Description:

Once, her heart was empty. Now it’s filled with ice…

Ellen’s therapist told her to forget the past, but the life she’s left with is boring. All she wants is to be happy and normal, but the approaching long bleak nights of winter loom threateningly in front of her, especially as she’ll be alone.

When the secrets her mother put in place to protect her are uncovered, Ellen learns the frightening truth. Her history is darker than she imagined. She’s not who she thinks she is, and the real her is a very different person to the one that others have mistreated and exploited.

If she has any hope for a future, Ellen must find answers about the past. This winter, there will be vengeance on Ellen’s mind, and DI Barton will struggle in his hardest case to date.

How can he find the truth when all the victims and witnesses are dead?

Ross Greenwood writes gritty, heart-pounding thrillers, with twists aplenty, and unforgettable endings. Perfect for fans of Mark Billingham and Stuart MacBride.

My Thoughts:

This is the third book in the DI Barton series and basically follows on from the previous novel so would advise reading in order to get the most enjoyment from these books.

The story alternates between Ellen and Barton. This actually adds to the suspense of the storyline. Ellen I felt a whole load of emotions for but mainly empathy and pity. Her life hasn’t been the easiest of ones and past events have left her extremely scarred. Without a doubt this is one killer who will have you question what’s right and wrong.

Barton I just love. He is a great character and I love how him and his team operate. I think my mindset was very much like his towards the end and it’s great to see someone in his role still have some sort of compassion. I mean it can’t be easy seeing so many murders and crimes over the years, someone in that role must get hardened to it somewhat.

For me this was so much more than the run of the mill detective thriller. I think Ellen’s plight touched me and as things from her past come to light and the changing of relationships with the people she is closest to, it felt more personal and went deeper. More than anything it made for a wholly engrossing read.

The Ice Killer will chill you for many reasons. It’s a story about justice that messed with my head as, as much as I knew what Ellen was doing was wrong, I couldn’t help but be routing for her also. There are some wonderfully unexpected turns that made this even more enthralling and had me racing through towards the end. I am seriously hoping this isn’t the last in the series as its just to good not to carry on with. A page turning thriller that will have you desperate for more.

My thanks to Rachel’s Random Resources for an invite onto the blog tour. Also thanks to Boldwood Books and NetGalley for an advanced readers copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

Author Bio –

Ross Greenwood is the bestselling author of eight crime thrillers. Before becoming a full-time writer he was most recently a prison officer and so worked everyday with murderers, rapists and thieves for four years. He lives in Peterborough.

Social Media Links –

Newsletter sign up:  http://bit.ly/RossGreenwoodNewsletter

Twitter: https://twitter.com/greenwoodross

https://www.facebook.com/RossGreenwoodAuthorhttp://bookbub.com/authors/ross-greenwood

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s