More Than Just Mum by Rebecca Smith @0neMoreChapter_

More Than Just Mum is available to purchase from Amazon. (Please note that link used is an Amazon affiliate link)

Book Description:

The perfect antidote to a chaotic world, More Than Just Mum will have you crying with laughter

Hannah Thompson loves her family beyond words… but sometimes she wishes they would recognise her as more than just ‘mum’.

Eldest son Dylan is soon to be flying the nest, sixteen-year-old Scarlet keeps asking about penalties for worryingly specific crimes, they’ve forgotten world book day and Benji absolutely will not be Where’s Wally again, and it’s at least two days before she and hubby Nick can sit down for Wine Wednesdays… and even longer until Fizzy Friday.

Determined to find herself a job that she loves, earn a whole lot of money and to have her teenagers respect her as ‘Hannah’ as well as ‘mum’; it might sound like a tall order, but she’s a mum on a mission…

A laugh-out-loud read of self-discovery, family chaos and love. Perfect for fans of Kristen Bailey, Sophie Ranald and Nick Spalding.

The next book in this hilarious series Faking It is out now!

My Thoughts:

This book was an absolute breath of fresh air. It was great to lose myself into this fun read whilst trying to shut out what is happening in the real world.

I think a lot of mothers can relate to Hannah’s character in this book. Yes our children are our world but I don’t think it’s selfish to also want to do something else with our lives. Along with being a mum, Hannah also works part time teaching a class of year 9’s, English. Not bad you would think apart from she isn’t actually qualified to teach English! Hannah wants to do more with her life and throws herself into finding a new career that will make her lots more money.

This promised to be a laugh out loud read and I have to say it was. I could totally sympathise with her dealings with her teenage children and certainly didn’t envy her job as a teacher, although by the end I did kind of feel like it could be quite a rewarding job at times. The author brings a lot of humour into Hannah’s home life as well as her mission to throw herself into a new career. I don’t want to say too much about that side of things but it really is hilarious.

More Than Just Mum is a realistic and funny read that will brighten your day. This is a story that makes for an uplifting read that does have some hidden meaning in that you shouldn’t give up on your dreams and take those chances. Was pleasantly surprised to see there is a follow on to this book as would love to catch back up with Hannah again and see what’s next in her life. A highly enjoyable read and an impressive debut novel.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s