The Nurse by J.A. Corrigan

The Nurse is available to purchase from Amazon. (Please note that link used is an Amazon affiliate link)

Book Description:

When you hear her story, will you believe her?

Rose Marlowe is a hard-working nurse, a loving wife, and a merciless killer. Or so she says. Despite her confession, it is hard to believe that this beautiful, kind woman could have killed her vulnerable patient in cold blood.

Down-on-his luck author and ex-journalist, Theo Hazel, is convinced that there’s more to what happened than Rose is telling, and so decides to visit her behind bars to write her story. His first surprise comes when Rose reveals that the victim was not a stranger to her.

As time goes on, it seems that Rose is letting Theo see behind her perfect mask. With each new visit, he learns terrible new things about her heart-breaking past. With each new visit, he becomes more and more convinced that she can’t be a killer. But is he trying to free an innocent woman, or falling prey to a calculating murderer?

A gripping and unputdownable thriller that will keep you guessing into the early hours of the morning. Perfect for fans of The Silent Patient, Shari Lapena and JP Delaney.

My Thoughts:

The story flicks between past and present as well as chapters between Rose, who is in prison for murder and Theo, a writer, who is writing a book about the case.

I didn’t know what to make of Rose to start with. I mean she has killed a young man yet I found myself drawn to her and was desperate to hear her story. Whilst I did correctly guess certain aspects of the story quite early on, it didn’t in anyway spoil my enjoyment of this book. If anything for me it is all about the why’s and if’s. The need to know whether Rose was a killer or not and as to why this man had been killed, it had me desperately wanting to turn those pages to find out.

Theo is a character I really enjoyed. There is a certain softness about him that drew me in and I enjoyed his chapters as much as I did Rose’s. Both characters were completely compelling and usually I find I’m more desperate to get to a certain characters chapters, or timeline but I just couldn’t get enough of past, present as well as Rose and Theo and that is totally down to the author’s story telling.

The Nurse is a novel that will send your mind in turmoil as to why a nurse of all people would kill someone. The author has the reader doubting as to whether this woman is capable or not of something so atrocious. It is twisted and wholly addictive. If it wasn’t for real life getting in the way I could easily have read this book in one sitting as the story grabs hold of the reader and doesn’t want to let go. I can’t wait to read more from the author!

My thanks to NetGalley and Canelo for an advanced readers copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s