Blood for Blood by Victoria Selman @VictoriaSelman

Blood For Blood is available to purchase from Amazon. (Please note that link used is an Amazon affiliate link)

Book Description:

Shortlisted for the CWA Debut Dagger Award.

A gripping, twisty serial killer thriller. Perfect for fans of James Patterson and Lee Child.

Ziba Mackenzie profiles killers. Now one is profiling her.

Rush hour, London. A packed commuter train is torn apart in a collision. Picking through the carnage, ex-special forces profiler Ziba MacKenzie helps a dying woman who passes on a cryptic message: He did it. You have to tell someone.

When a corpse is found bearing the gruesome signature of a serial killer dormant for twenty-five years, Ziba is pulled into the hunt for the perpetrator. As the body count rises it becomes clear he’s on a new spree. But what’s brought the London Lacerator back after such a long hiatus? And does his sudden return have anything to do with the woman on the train?

Ziba scrambles to profile the killer in the hope of predicting his next move. But time is running out. And the closer she gets to uncovering his identity, the closer he gets to destroying hers.

My Thoughts:

Who doesn’t love a good crime series? I know I do, so I was excited to come across the Ziba MacKenzie series. A main protagonist who profiles killers. The fact that the story centres on a serial killer also, well I knew I had to read this book as it screamed out that what was inside would be dark and thrilling and it delivered on both counts.

The story starts off strong with a great opening. I loved the short chapters as it kept me turning those pages and I kept saying to myself that I would just read one more. A fatal mistake when I tend to read before going to sleep. Lets just say I spent a few days raring to get back to bed so I could dive back into the book which of course resulted in me getting a lot less sleep than usual as I was so engrossed and ended up staying up well past my usual bedtime!

I loved Ziba! As with most protagonists in this genre, she isn’t without her mental baggage. Her background makes for interesting reading and I have no doubts that we will see more of this in future books. I’m also enjoying the chemistry between her and Jack and again it has you wondering where the author will go with that particular thread.

Blood for Blood was an engrossing and chilling start to a very promising new crime series to me. I really enjoyed the authors writing style and the twists and turns kept me guessing throughout. It’s packed full of suspense and the tension gets turned up full whack at times where my heart was in my mouth as to whether Ziba would uncover the killer before its too late. Can’t wait to read more!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s