Coming Home to Heritage Cove by Helen J Rolfe

Book Description:

Welcome to Heritage Cove, the little village by the sea brimming with character, community and friendship, and the perfect place to fall in love this summer…

Melissa rushes back to Heritage Cove when Barney, the man who’s been like a father figure to her since she was a little girl, ends up in hospital. After an absence of five years, her return isn’t going to be easy, especially when she bumps into Harvey, the love of her life and the man she’s never been able to forget.

For reasons he couldn’t explain at the time, Harvey changed his mind about going with Melissa to start afresh as they’d planned, and life moved on for the both of them. But with Melissa back in the village and determined to stick around to help Barney, they can’t avoid each other forever. Melissa knows she let so many people down by staying away for so long, but she and Harvey blame each other for what happened and neither of them is willing to admit to being in the wrong.

When Barney insists on cancelling the Wedding Dress Ball, the charity fundraiser he holds every year in the stunning barn on his property, Melissa and Harvey realise they’re going to have to pull together. Otherwise the man they once knew might be gone forever. And when they unearth a secret Barney has never shared with anyone, they go in search of answers to not only ensure the ball runs this summer, but to bring back the Barney they know and love.

Back in the cove after all this time, Melissa gets to see the life she left behind and it’s time to deal with what it was that drove her away in the first place.

Beneath the summer sunshine in Heritage Cove, the sea sparkles, the heat rises and new love, reconciliations and the answers to an old love story could bring changes for everyone. Perfect summer reading for fans of Sarah Morgan, Holly Martin and Jill Mansell

My Thoughts:

This is the first book in the Heritage Cover series of which I am so happy about as it means that I get to revisit the place and characters in future books.

The story centres around Melissa, Harvey and Barney. Melissa and Harvey grew up together and have a lot of history of which didn’t end on good terms. I was very keen to learn more about these two as the chemistry between them was very much alive and you can’t help but get caught up in the whole will they, won’t they get together again.

Barney’s character I adored. He is very much a father figure to Melissa and Harvey but he is also someone hiding something from his past and again, I was eager to find out more. The Wedding Dress Ball the visions of the barn decorated up as well as people wearing their wedding dresses, I could see it all clearly in my mind and I loved being taken into the heart of this story as this wonderful small but supportive community.

Coming Home to Heritage Cove is such a charming read with an idyllic setting and very likable characters. There was plenty going on to keep my interest throughout and before I knew it I had all to quickly reached the end. That’s always a sign of a good book for me when the time spent reading is so enjoyable it passes to soon. An endearing story that will warm your heart, body and soul!

2 thoughts on “Coming Home to Heritage Cove by Helen J Rolfe”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s