The Art of Loving You by Amelia Henley @MsAmeliaHenley @HQstories

Book Description:

They were so in love . . .
And then life changed forever . . .
Will they find happiness again?
 
Libby and Jack are the happiest they’ve ever been. Thanks to their dear friend, eighty-year-old Sid, they’ve just bought their first house together, and it’s the beginning of the life they’ve always dreamed of.

But the universe has other plans for Libby and Jack and a devastating twist of fate shatters their world.
 
All of a sudden life is looking very different, and unlikely though it seems, might Sid be the one person who can help Libby and Jack move forward when what they loved the most has been lost?
 
The Art of Loving You is a beautiful love story for our times. Romantic and uplifting, it will break your heart and then put it back together again. Perfect for fans of Rebecca Serle,Josie Silver and Sophie Cousens.

My Thoughts:

I don’t think I have cried my way through a full book before but that is what I did with this one. I literally cried and sobbed all the way through it and let’s not mention the amount of tissues I went through in the process!

Admittedly I am a highly emotional person anyway but this story was so powerful. Overwhelmingly so in parts. I don’t want to say to much about the actual plot as to do so would be to spoil it for others who haven’t yet read it but what the characters go through, it ripped my heart apart and shattered it into millions of tiny pieces.

The story covers many things like grief, love, forgiveness, guilt but it mainly offers hope. I especially loved Sid’s character who at eighty years young, he is so very wise. I loved finding out more about his own personal life and his relationship with Libby and Jack was so heart-warming to read. In fact there are quite a few characters who I enjoyed getting to know more as well as seeing how things evolved for them.

The Art of Loving You was a highly emotional read that I read in one sitting. These characters grabbed hold of me and wouldn’t let go. I know I will be thinking of them for along time to come. Yes I may have cried my way through this book but I loved every minute of it. It is a stark reminder that we only get one life so enjoy it and more than anything be kind in the time that you are here. A heart-breaking yet uplifting read and without a doubt one of my top reads of 2021!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s