The Midnight Man by Caroline Mitchell @Caroline_writes @emblabook

Book Description:

From number one bestselling author Caroline Mitchell, comes the first chilling Slayton thriller for fans of C. J. Tudor and Stephen King.

If you open your door to the Midnight Man, hide with a candle wherever you can. Try not to scream as he draws near, because one of you won’t be leaving here…

On Halloween night in Slayton, five girls go to Blackhall Manor to play the Midnight Game. They write their names on a piece of paper and prick their fingers to soak it in blood. At exactly midnight they knock on the door twenty-two times – they have invited the Midnight Man in.

It was supposed to be a game, but only four girls come home.

Detective Sarah Noble has just returned to the force, and no one knows more about Blackhall Manor than her. It’s a case that will take Sarah back to everything she’s been running from, and shake her to the core.

Will she be ready to meet the Midnight Man?

My Thoughts:

I love this authors books and when I saw the cover and read the description for her latest, I just knew I was in for a thrilling reading experience.

Caroline well and truly sets the scene with this first book in the series. There’s an almost horror vibe going on when it comes to the Midnight Game. The more I read about this game, the more I knew I would be way too scared to ever play it! The author also creates such intriguing protagonists. The main character’s own personal background sent my head in a spin and I just couldn’t get enough of this book from picking it up.

There were just so many elements that I loved within the story and every one just took this book to the next level. The author seems to excel with every book she writes and I desperately want the next book, like now! This was just sooo good and I can’t wait to see what she comes up with next.

The Midnight Man is a story that will make you want to go to bed with the lights switched on, whilst checking your doors and windows numerous times to ensure they are fully locked. It made the hairs on my arms stand on end the deeper into the story I got. Man, oh ,man it didn’t half creep me out as I waited with baited breath as to who The Midnight Man could actually be. The pacing was brilliant and had me on the edge of my seat through out. An amazing start to this series!

My thanks to Embla books and NetGalley for an advanced readers copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

1 thought on “The Midnight Man by Caroline Mitchell @Caroline_writes @emblabook”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s