Darker Days to Come (The DI Jimmy Bliss Crime Series Book 9) by Tony J Forder @TonyJForder

Book Description:

The DI Jimmy Bliss series continues in another gripping crime novel.

DI Bliss and his team absorb two new cases which don’t initially present as major crimes.

But who is the man who stepped in front of an express train? Did he willingly commit suicide or was he coerced? And what, if any, connection is there to an abandoned vehicle whose owner cannot be traced?

As Bliss and his team dig deeper they soon realise there are three people now missing – a journalist, a mother, and her young daughter. But as the investigations continue, the team struggle with too many unanswered questions. What they do know is that lives are at risk, and the chances of finding all three still alive decrease with each passing hour…

My Thoughts:

I should know better when I pick up one of this author’s novels. The storyline took such a uturn and with each page it had me gripped as it totally went into a direction I hadn’t seen coming. Whilst it was quite an uncomfortable one, it grabbed hold of me and wouldn’t let go.

I’m not going to say much about this case as it doesn’t give too much away in the book description. Bliss and his team really excel themselves though as nothing is straight forward, even right up until the end there are surprises round each corner and not nice ones at that! You have to give credit to Bliss for being a great leader and whilst not all his team agree with all his decisions, he has everyone’s interests at heart.

As like many fans of this series, Bliss has become a much loved character even though a very stubborn one. Molly is another firm favourite of mine and I love how Bliss has become an almost surrogate father to her. There is just something so heart-warming when these two come together and I can’t help but smiling at the banter between the two.

Darker Days to Come in some ways gives the reader a clue in the title at what to expect as the story certainly gets darker and more twisted the deeper you get into it. For a crime series, this author manages to put my heart through the wringer with each and every book. The storylines and characters pull on every emotion possible and by the end I am left desperate for more. A chilling page turner!

My thanks to Donna Morfett for inviting me to be part of the blog tour. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

Tony J Forder is the author of the bestselling DI Bliss crime thriller series. The first seven books, Bad to the Bone, The Scent of Guilt, If Fear Wins, The Reach of Shadows, The Death of Justice, Endless Silent Scream, and Slow Slicing, were joined in December 2020 by a prequel novella, Bliss Uncovered. The series continued with The Autumn Tree in May 2021.

Tony’s other early series – two action-adventure novels featuring Mike Lynch – comprises both Scream Blue Murder and Cold Winter Sun. These books were republished in April 2021, and will be joined in 2022 by The Dark Division.

In addition, Tony has written two standalone novels: a dark, psychological crime thriller, Degrees of Darkness, and a suspense thriller set in California, Fifteen Coffins.

The Huntsmen, released on 4 October 2022, was the first book in a new crime series, set in Wiltshire. It featured DS Royston Chase, DC Claire Laney, and PCSO Alison May.

Tony is in the process of moving to Sussex with his wife and is a full-time author. He is currently working on DI Bliss #10 and the second DS Chase novel.


All of Tony’s links can be found on Linktree: https://linktr.ee/TonyJForder

Darker Days to Come: getbook.at/DDtC

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s