The Book Share by Phaedra Patrick @phaedrapatrick @HQstories

Book Description:

It’s never too late to start a new chapter…

The utterly charming and feel-good new novel from the bestselling author of The Secrets of Sunshine and The Library of Lost and Found.

Liv Green loves losing herself in a good book. But her everyday reality is less romantic, cleaning houses for people who barely give her the time of day. So when she lands a job housekeeping for her personal hero and mega-bestselling author Essie Starling, she can’t believe her luck.

When Essie dies unexpectedly, Liv is left with a life-changing last wish: to complete Essie’s final novel. To do so, change-averse Liv will have to step away from the fictitious worlds in her head, and into Essie’s shoes. As she begins to write, she uncovers a surprising connection between the two women – and a secret that will change Liv’s life forever…

Brimming with joy and packed with a sparkling cast of characters, The Book Share is a moving reminder that it’s never too late to re-write your own story – perfect for fans of All the Lonely People and The Authenticity Project.

My Thoughts:

Being an avid reader myself, I liked Liv as soon as we meet her. She is hardworking and always on the go between her three cleaning jobs and looking after the family home with a husband and two teenage sons.

Like Liv, I found Essie quite daunting to start with. She is a no nonsense type of person who is very private about her personal life. I was eager to find out more about her and why she had been living as a recluse for so many years of which when she dies, Liv starts to find out more about the writer who she had worked for, for the last three years yet hardly knew anything about.

What I particularly loved about this story is Liv rediscovering herself. Am sure many of us have lost our way in life at times and Essie’s last wishes pushes Liv out of her comfort zone. I felt like a proud mum at times with Liv taking some big risks and how she handles the situations.

The Book Share was an emotional and uplifting read that had me totally hooked. I was really routing for Liv to come good in finishing Essie’s novel and I admired her determination. The storyline to do with Essie’s past made her more endearing and I couldn’t stop turning the pages although I was trying my hardest to take my time as I was enjoying the story so much that I didn’t want it to end. Phaedra Patrick is a new author to me and I can’t wait to read more of her books!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s