Begars Abbey by V.L. Valentine

Book Description:

A dark house filled with darker secrets…

Winter 1954, and in a dilapidated apartment in Brooklyn, Sam Cooper realises that she has nothing left. Her mother is dead, she has no prospects, and she cannot afford the rent. But as she goes through her mother’s things, Sam finds a stack of hidden letters that reveal a family and an inheritance that she never knew she had, three thousand miles away in Yorkshire.

Begars Abbey is a crumbling pile, inhabited only by Lady Cooper, Sam’s ailing grandmother, and a handful of servants. Sam cannot understand why her mother kept its very existence a secret, but her newly discovered diaries offer a glimpse of a young girl growing increasingly terrified. As is Sam herself.

Built on the foundations of an old convent, Begars moves and sings with the biting wind. Her grandmother cannot speak, and a shadowy woman moves along the corridors at night. There are dark places in the hidden tunnels beneath Begars. And they will not give up their secrets easily…

A chilling read that will keep you turning the pages late into the night, Begars Abbey is a must-read for fans of Laura Purcell and W.C. Ryan.

My Thoughts:

Living in Yorkshire, I couldn’t pass on the opportunity to read this book which is set in York. I always seem to steer towards books that have remote settings and eerie buildings so this sounded right up my street!

The first few chapters are set in America and admittedly I found these didn’t grab me as much as I would have hoped for. After sometime away from it and seeing more reviews about how others enjoyed the novel, I picked it back up and soon found myself engrossed once Sam lands in England.

Descriptions are paramount in stories like this and the author does a stellar job of getting the reader to envision the old building in the state of disrepair it has fallen into. It gives it an added to chill as you could feel the cold wrapping itself around you. There aren’t a lot of characters and the ones we do get to meet were very intriguing to say the least!

Begars Abbey whilst may not have grabbed me at the start, turned out to be a solid read that raised the hair on my arms. I enjoyed the gothic/ghostly feel of the story and am glad I didn’t read it on a night time and had the safety of daylight around me as this is one that could give you nightmares! This is my first book by the author and would be interested to read more. An atmospheric read that will give you chills!

My thanks to Viper Books for an advanced readers copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

5 thoughts on “Begars Abbey by V.L. Valentine”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s