Under the Marsh (Monica Kennedy Book 3) by G. R. Halliday @vintagebooks

Book Description:

SHE NEVER CONFESSED. NOW SHE’S READY TO TALK.

Twelve years ago DI Monica Kennedy caught the notorious serial killer Pauline Tosh, imprisoning her for life.

When Pauline asks Monica to visit her at the remote Highlands Carselang prison, the detective thinks she’s playing games.

But then Pauline hands her a hand-drawn map with a cross marking the desolate marsh lands near Inverness and Monica can’t ignore it – she was always convinced there were more victims out there.

And when a body is discovered it looks like they’ve found a new name from Pauline’s kill list.

But things are never that simple…

An atmospheric thriller set in the Scottish Highlands, perfect for fans of James Oswald, Ann Cleeves and Val McDermid.

My Thoughts:

This is the third book in the Monica Kennedy crime series but my first book I have read by the author. I had absolutely no issue reading this as a standalone novel not having read the previous two books, although I will be going back to reading them as I enjoyed this one so much.

The Scottish setting of a remote prison and desolate marsh land help make for some atmospheric reading. Throw in a serial killer who would give Hannibal Lecter a run for his money, well the storyline in this novel had me well and truly gripped! Solving crimes are helped with advance technology but when a murder happened many years before, trying to solve it in current day means a lot of it comes down to some good old fashioned detective work. Monica I connected with straight from the off. As a single mother she is juggling both her work and home life of which things with her partner Crawford are even less straight forward which added even more to the drama of this story.

Under the Marsh was a highly enjoyable Scottish crime thriller that I didn’t want to put down. Whilst this was a complex case, the story is set at a steady pace with something going on at all times meaning my interest never dipped and if anything, heightened the closer to the conclusion I got. I can’t believe I am only now reading my first novel by this author! One to definitely add to your TBR pile if you love an engrossing, page turner of a read.

My thanks to Vintage Books for an advanced readers copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s