Subject 375 by Nikki Owen

Book Description:

What to believe

Who to betray

When to run…


Plastic surgeon Dr Maria Martinez has Asperger’s. Convicted of killing a priest, she is alone, in prison and has no memory of the murder.

DNA evidence places Maria at the scene of the crime, yet she claims she’s innocent. Then she starts to remember…

A strange room. Strange people. Being watched.

As Maria gets closer to the truth she is drawn into a web of international intrigue and must fight not only to clear her name but to remain alive.

As addictive as the Bourne novels, with a protagonist as original as The Bridge’s Saga Norén.

Don’t miss the first instalment of Nikki Owen’s electrifying Project Trilogy, perfect for fans of Nicci French and Charles Cumming.

Previously published as The Spider in the Corner of the Room

My Thoughts:

The story is set in a prison which sets a dark and sinister scene in your head. Maria has been sent there after being found guilty of killing a priest. Only problem for her is that she doesn’t remember doing it. Having Asperger’s, I felt for this character who is stuck in this horrible place and is someone who struggles to make friends.

I did find the story flicked from one moment where certain character’s would be talking to all of a sudden different characters talking which did throw me a few times and had to go back and re read to make sure I fully understood what was going on. This is a story that commands your attention as there is a lot going on but it is well worth sticking with. If you love a good conspiracy story, then it is certainly worth giving this one a go.

You will find yourself doubting not only the protagonist but also every character you come across. The author makes it so you have no idea who to trust and if certain events really did happen or is it all a figment of imagination in Maria’s head. She knows how to play with her readers minds, that’s for sure!

Subject 375 is the first book in The Project Trilogy and I am definitely keen to read more. Whilst I did struggle with how the story moved around, I could still appreciate this tense and well plotted story. This is one of those books that would be great on the big screen. It’s packed full of tension with lots of well thought out twists. Look forward to seeing what happens next.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s