A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder by Holly Jackson @HoJay92

Book Description:

The New York Times No.1 bestselling YA crime thriller that everyone is talking about. Soon to be a major BBC series!

THE WINNER OF THE BRITISH BOOK AWARD’S CHILDREN’S BOOK OF THE YEAR 2020

SHORTLISTED FOR THE WATERSTONES CHILDREN’S BOOK PRIZE 2020

The case is closed. Five years ago, schoolgirl Andie Bell was murdered by Sal Singh. The police know he did it. Everyone in town knows he did it.

But having grown up in the same small town that was consumed by the crime, Pippa Fitz-Amobi isn’t so sure. When she chooses the case as the topic for her final project, she starts to uncover secrets that someone in town desperately wants to stay hidden. And if the real killer is still out there, how far will they go to keep Pip from the truth … ?

Perfect for fans of One of Us Is LyingGone Girl, We Were Liars and Riverdale

My Thoughts:

Being a crime lover, the title alone grabbed my attention for this book. Even though it is of the YA genre, it can of course be enjoyed by adults also and would highly recommend giving it a go.

Pip decides to investigate the death of a school girl that happened five years prior for her project for school which just happens to be the same school that the dead girl went to. As you can imagine, this opens a can of worms for a lot of people in the town who would rather things be left alone. I wondered how a teenager would be able to find out anymore than what the police had previously done as after all, what could she possibly learn?

I think in Pip’s favour, people don’t take her too seriously so tend to open up that bit more. It isn’t long before she is compiling a list of suspects but also putting herself in danger. I enjoyed how she becomes friends with Ravi, the brother of the one who was blamed for the school girl’s murder. The friendship that grows between the two was lovely to see, more so as Ravi and his family have been made to feel like outcasts after what had happened.

A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder is the first in a trilogy of which I can’t wait to read more of Pip’s antics. If you loved murder/mysteries when you were growing up, more so books with a young protagonist like Nancy Drew, you will enjoy this novel. The author kept me guessing throughout as to who the real killer was with some well played out twists that made this an entertaining read. A dark and not too gritty story with a likeable teenager at the heart of it!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s