Uncategorized

The Shadow Man by Helen Fields @AvonBooksUK @Helen_Fields

Book Description:

The Shadow Man is a twisty thriller that will leave you gasping for more. The first standalone from the bestselling author of the Perfect series, Helen Fields.

He collects his victims. But he doesn’t keep them safe…

Elspeth, Meggy and Xavier are locked in a flat. They don’t know where they are, and they don’t know why they’re there. They only know that the shadow man has taken them, and he won’t let them go.
 
Desperate to escape, the three of them must find a way out of their living hell, even if it means uncovering a very dark truth.
 
Because the shadow man isn’t a nightmare. He’s all too real.
 
And he’s watching.
 
Helen Fields is back with a heart-pounding new book, perfect for fans of Cara Hunter and Stuart MacBride.

My Thoughts:

The story whilst mainly focusing on The Shadow Man and his victims who are fighting for survival, also alternates between Connie who is a psychologist and Baarda a detective. Connie who has come over from America seems to be the one who is more in charge of this case in her mission to uncover who is behind the recent disappearances. I really liked Connie’s character. She is strong willed and not afraid to overstep the line to get things done. Baarda is having some troubles in his personal life and I felt that Connie working on the case was a good thing not just for him but for the missing people also.

What really stood out to me in this story is the mentality of the three captives. Meggy who is the youngest, who at only twelve surprised me with how grown up she could be at times, understanding a lot more about the real world than you would expect from someone so young. She swaps from being feisty to a vulnerable girl and I wanted to keep giving her a hug. Elspeth and Xavier, whilst showing strength’s in their own way, have more experience of what goes on in real life and try their best to hide the reality they are in from Meggy but being very aware that none of them may come out of what they are going through alive.

The sense that it is a race against time to work out who is behind it was so strong due to seeing what Elspeth, Xavier and Meggy were going through. I was willing Connie and Baarda to hurry up and find them before they had to endure anymore horrors. At times I could feel my heart in my mouth as the story gets more tense and if I could have read some parts behind a cushion I would have done as I was torn with wanting to know what happens next but also not knowing whether things would go the way I wanted them to and were these three characters going to come away from this alive or in body bags!

The Shadow Man was a chilling page-turner that I read over the course of the day as was desperate to see not only who the perpetrator was but also the reasoning behind it all and boy was I not disappointed. My heart was racing towards the end of the story along with the increase of the pacing. I’m thrilled to see that whilst this is a standalone novel, Connie is back in another one very soon and I can’t wait to read it! Intense, dark with a killer of a storyline!

5 thoughts on “The Shadow Man by Helen Fields @AvonBooksUK @Helen_Fields”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s